Travel & Cutting Back

3 weeks until Chicago Marathon

I had some business and fun travel later in the week that threw my routine off, so it was nice that I didn’t have big workouts to do while I was gone. I was able to get my workouts in, but not miss out on too much fun.

Monday 

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: 1:00 Yoga

I was a little worried that going to a yoga class would be a little too much on my legs after the 21+ miler the day before. But I really wanted to squeeze in at least one class during the week and with travel starting Wednesday, Monday was my best option. It ended up be exactly what I needed and my body felt infinitely better after the class than before.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: 45 – 50 min Easy Run + yoga (or strength)
  • Actual: 6M @ 8:26 + yoga

Nice and easy run with Walter on a perfect fall morning. My legs protested strongly for the first 2 miles but once they warmed up, I felt really good. I was happy to find that there were no aches or pains lingering after Sunday’s 21-miler.

That evening I went to an “Hour of Power” yoga class. It was tough at times and it’s a little frustrating that some poses and transitions that used to be easy and natural are hard and require a focused effort. It still feels great to be back on my mat and I know my core strength and balance will come back with time.

Wednesday

  • Plan: Tempo w/2-3M @ 7:10
  • Actual: 7.5M @ 7:50 w/tempo miles: 7:07, 7:07, 7:04

My legs were definitely still feeling Sunday’s long run. They felt loose, but a bit fatigued so that 3 miles at tempo pace felt a little harder than it normally would. It was a beautiful morning and I was happy to be out there which always makes tough miles better. The more I reminded myself to focus on form rather than being tired and kept the effort controlled, the better I felt.

After the run I had just enough time for a quick shower and to finish packing before heading to the airport to fly to Norfolk for a quick work trip. The airport was chaotic since Terminal 1 was shut down completely because of unattended baggage. Always thankful for TSA Pre-check in those situations.

Thursday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Sleeping in on a business trip is a luxury that I don’t normally get. I slept until 7, sat in a meeting room all day, then hung out in an aiport for many hours. I eventually got on my very delayed flight that night to fly to Newark, then took a bus ride into NYC. I didn’t end up getting to Sofia’s place until well after midnight.

Friday

  • Plan: Speedwork w/”light 400’s”: 5-6×400 @ 1:35 – 40
  • Actual: 6.75M @ 8:09 w/400’s: 1:38, 1:38, 1:37, 1:36, 1:36, 1:36

The whole crew (8 girls!) slept in until 7:30ish, but when one of Sofie’s friends, Heather, was trying to quietly slip out the door in her running clothes, I popped up and asked her to wait so I could join her. Heather and I ran about 2 miles together along the East River before I turned back to hit the track and she continued on toward the Williamsburg Bridge. My body was feeling the late night and my legs were probably still a bit fatigued from peak week, but I was happy with the consistency in the 400’s, even though they didn’t feel light and effortless quite yet.

IMG_3595

We spent the remainder of the day exploring the city as a group. We walked all around SoHo (with mandatory stops at GeorgeTown Cupcakes, Alex & Ani and the cronut place). Then we hit the High Line and had lunch at Chelsea Market before half of the group left to head out to North Fork, while a few of us stayed in the city for a quick trip to Central Park and a glass of wine on the Eataly Roof Top.

IMG_4678

All of the out of town crew with Sofie on the High Line. It was a stunning fall day.

IMG_6876

Ashley, Heather and I with a Central Park selfie.

Saturday

  • Plan: 55 min Run
  • Actual: 7M @ 9:01 (4.65 @ 9:22, 2.35 @ 8:17)

I picked up another runner friend from the group Saturday morning. Megan is trying to break 2:00 in her 2nd half marathon in 2 weeks. We ran about 4.5 together through Downtown Greenport then I dropped her at the house and went back out to finish off my mileage. It was nice to have company and someone to take in the scenery with, but unfortunately neither of us took a camera!

sofie

Most of the views were similar to the one from our house…surrounded by water and sandy beaches.

The rest of the day was spent doing a North Fork wine tour. There were 14 of us in the group and we went to 5 vineyards. You can imagine how much fun it was and how the day progressed 🙂 From the early parts of the day…

group

Pre-Wine. So many women.

IMG_8190

Unplanned matching with the Bride (left)…STRIPES.

northfork

Sunday

  • Plan: 1:30 w/Fast Finish
  • Actual: 11.15M @ 8:04 w/last 3.15: 7:49, 7:39, 7:30, 7:17 (0.15)

A full day of drinking wine meant a relatively early bedtime Saturday evening. I woke up at 7:15ish Sunday feeling pretty darn good, considering the events of the previous day. I quickly changed and headed out, hoping to be back before most of the house was awake. I did more exploring of Greenport and actually felt pretty good for the majority of the miles. Three bathroom stops in the first 6 miles (thankful for an open gas station, 7-11 and porta potty) told me that my body wasn’t pleased with how I treated it Saturday, but thankfully it still gave me what I needed. The “fast finish” miles were tough and felt WAY harder than anything that so closely resembles marathon pace should. But I guess that’s just how it goes sometimes…

The weekend ended with a cancelled flight because of the Air Traffic Control mess in Chicago. As much as I wanted to be home and see Brad, I got to spend another night with Sofie in NYC and sometimes that unexpected time with a dear friend is priceless.

Totals

  • Run: 38.4 miles
  • Cross training: 0
  • Strength: 0 (oops…Saturday I should have thrown that in!)
  • Yoga: 2 classes!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, running, training, Travel, walter, weekend fun, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Travel & Cutting Back

  1. Pingback: Positive Tuesday | PB & PRs

  2. elizabeth says:

    ooh, what did you buy!?!?!? You’ve nailed your training. Really excited for you!! and holy shit that’s a big bach party group.

Tell me what you think!

