Searching for Fresh Legs

2 weeks until Chicago Marathon

I was so happy to be back home for this full week. I had some catching up to do on life, sleep and just general rest. In the early part of the week I was getting a little concerned that my legs still felt heavy and sluggish. Later in the week, I started to see a glimpse of freshness and then by Saturday I was feeling decent, but still thinking and over-analyzing WAY too much.

Monday 

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

I was unexpectedly in NYC Monday morning after flight cancellations Sunday. I started the day with an hour and $100+ Uber trip to Laguardia from Manhattan (a 6.5 mile drive). I was lucky to arrive 30 min before the flight and still make the plane, but we sat on the runway for a few hours while Air Traffic Control was still backed up in Chicago. I finally made it to O’Hare around 1:30. Exhausted. Starving. But home. Happy Monday.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: Tempo Run w/2M @ 7:10
  • Actual: 7M @ 7:54 w/tempo: 7:08, 7:04

Sleep won out over a run before my morning meetings and I didn’t get a chance to run until around lunch time (yay for fall weather allowing this!). I felt decent and the tempo miles weren’t bad, but I was definitely still not feeling any pep in my legs from the reduced mileage.

Wednesday

  • Plan: 1:00 Easy + yoga
  • Actual: 7.1M @ 8:28 + yoga

I actually acknowledged my alarm when it went off to run before my morning calls. It was a beautiful morning, but a little windy. Walter went with me for 6 miles and I felt pretty sluggish for for the first 3, but a little better after that. Where’s the fresh springy feeling that taper is supposed to bring?

I went to an evening yoga class, hoping to work out some tightness. It was perfect, for the most part, but there was one sequence of holding humble warrior/extended side angle/low lunge twists that just felt like too much for where I am in taper right now. My competitive side doesn’t like to give in and go to child’s pose, but I had no choice once my legs got really shaky and weak. I probably shouldn’t even have held as long as I did.

Thursday

  • Plan: Speedwork w/3×1000 @ 10k pace (4:15)
  • Actual: 7.25M @ 8:08 w/1k: 4:15, 4:15, 4:14

It was much warmer than the last few weeks of morning runs, but I didn’t mind because for me to run on the track without too long of a warm-up/cool-down, I need to walk the beginning and end of the run. My legs felt a tiny bit of spring in them in the warm-up which was a nice surprise after the previous two days’ sluggishness. The repeats didn’t feel as easy as I would like them to at 10k pace, but at least I was able to lock it in and hold it. By the time I was cooling down, my legs felt fatigued again, similar to how they felt earlier in the week.

Friday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

I originally thought I might go to yoga, but since I was still searching for some recovery and freshness in the legs, I knew I needed a complete rest day. I rested like a champ…even working all day from my bed.

Saturday

  • Plan: 1:00 – 1:20 Run w/1M in the middle @ race pace
  • Actual: 8.65M @ 8:05 w/Mile 4: 7:49

I went from running in a tank top and shorts on Thursday to capris and a light jacket on Saturday. I woke up to the sound of howling wind, temp of 37* with a “feels like” temp of 28 and rumors of snow flurries. But Walter was really excited to run in the colder temps and made it a solid 7 miles. When I started, my legs felt much better than they have at the beginning of the last few runs, but as I picked up the pace a little, it just felt harder than it should have. The one mile at race pace took me a while to lock in, but once I was in the range it really didn’t feel too bad. I was definitely ready to be done when I hit the 1:10 mark.

I spent the rest of the day with Chanthana, Manny and Jenny. We brunched, saw Gone Girl then got take-out later that night. Perfect way to spend a cold, windy, rainy day.

Sunday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Another day where I thought I might want to go to yoga, but in the end opted for rest. It was a super productive day though. This is what taper does to me! I got a bunch of errands run and things done around the house…including planting fall flowers in my planters.

IMG_1915

 

P.S. I wish I didn’t live in a world where I have to blur out my house number for safety purposes, but alas…

 

 

Totals

  • Run: 30 miles
  • Cross training: 0
  • Strength: 0
  • Yoga: 1 class

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, friends, Goals, running, training, walter, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Searching for Fresh Legs

  1. ErinAMG says:

    super excited. SUPER excited for you. all hugs and high fives from here, darlin!

  2. GOOOOOOOD luck this weekend!!!!! Can’t wait to read the I killed it report!!

  3. Gina says:

    When you are training hard to achieve your results you might be exposed to the risk of overtraining.
    According to fitness instructors, the best ways to prevent overtraining is proper nutrition and switching the types of your activities. To provide enough nutrients for active workouts I am taking Super Army Formula by Military Grade. This supplement perfectly increases my stamina and strength. Besides, I was surprised to notice that my stress resistance has also become stronger.

Tell me what you think!

