Friday Fun XIV – Marathon Edition

Friday Fun MARATHON EDITION!

  1. Chicago Marathon. It’s Sunday…two days away! ’nuff said. Runner Tracking: Bib #5340.
  2. Home. Fun fact: I have never slept in my own bed the night before a marathon. This is one of the biggest reasons why I am over the moon for this race. I get to stay in my “normal” routine, sleep in my own bed and (maybe most important) I don’t have to pack!
  3. House Guests. I have been telling friends since we moved here that if they wanted to run Chicago Marathon and stay with us, they were more than welcome. I am happy that Holly & Batch, Char and Jocelyn took us up on that offer for this weekend! It is always more fun for me to experience the race with friends so I am stoked to have this crew here to share all the pre and post race nerves and excitement with.
  4. Saturday Plans. I went to the expo today and, other than my shake-out run, I don’t plan to step a foot outside of my house tomorrow. That means take-out for dinner and watching football and movies in the basement ALL day. I can’t think of a better way to prep for 26.2.
  5. Cara MioAnother bonus of a hometown race? Knowing exactly where you want to carb load. Cara Mio is my favorite little Italian restaurant in Chicago. The service is great, it’s BYOB (!!), the prices are reasonable and the food is delicious. And for tonight, maybe most important…it is far away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown marathon crowds. Brad and I are going with Chanthana, Manny, Jenny, Liz, Kevin, Batch and Holly. Good friends, good food. Can’t beat it.
  6. These Pants. (Oiselle lux track pant, if you don’t want to click the link) Don’t worry, I am not going all fan-girl up in here. But I really DO love these pants. I bought them after my last 21-miler to celebrate completing peak training for this race. Needless to say, I have spent alot of time in them during taper. Yes, they are a bit on the expensive side for “sweat pants”, but the material, fit and comfort is out of this world.
  7. Forecast. I always say that ANYTHING reigns over heat in my world. And with Chicago’s history of 80+ degree days and my struggle in the warm-ish temps at Boston, that was definitely a fear of mine for this race. So while some people may be fretting over the chance of rain, I will embrace it along with the 50-something temps. I’ll have all my chafe-potential spots lubed up and a hat on and will run my heart out in that rain.
  8. Goals. I am a little hesitant to put hard and fast goals out there, internet or otherwise, because I am really focused on running on feel and seeing what my body has to give. I had the best training cycle I have ever had and I know I am really fit, but I also know that doesn’t necessarily translate into a PR marathon. My #1 goal is to run a faster race than I have ever run before (sub-3:30), but I really feel like I am fit enough to run something in the low to mid-3:20’s. So, we’ll see what body shows up on race day and I will give it all I’ve got!

Good luck to everyone running a marathon tomorrow or Sunday or running long this weekend!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Ernie, friends, life, Races, running, swimming, training, Travel, triathlon, workout clothes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Fun XIV – Marathon Edition

  1. ErinAMG says:

    Run that heart put, girlfriend! You’re on my list 🙂

  2. ErinAMG says:

    Whoops…put=out. Damn. Too excited.

  3. I’ve only slept in my own bed once before a marathon too! It was so nice! Have fun this weekend and good luck! I think this is going to be a great race for you!

  4. Jodi says:

    Can’t wait to hear all about it! Good luck!

  5. elizabeth says:

    ahh. here’s the bib number. 🙂 and i will need to know what size, because its taper week over done with all the miles fun purchase for me, too. you’re gonna kill it…can’t wait to follow along.

  6. erin says:

    Fantastic run today, Corey! Huge congrats!!

Tell me what you think!

