Chicago Marathon RACE WEEK!

1 week until Chicago Marathon

Welp, it’s race week, folks. I decided to go ahead and post this BEFORE the race so that the first post after the race is a recap or at least a highlight of how it all went down. This week was all about getting out of my own head with how my body was feeling and trying to focus on eating, sleeping, hydrating and mentally prepping for the race. (Oh and a quick work trip in the middle of the week…not ideal, but a good distraction.)

Monday 

  • Plan: 50 min – 1:00 Easy
  • Actual: 6.25M @ 8:21

Another cool morning and also another day where I was WAY over thinking how I was feeling. Walter ran with me and after about 5 miles when I eventually changed my focus to just enjoying the miles with him instead of over analyzing how my legs felt, I started to feel pretty darn good.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: Taper Medley: 1M @ MP (7:45) + 2×800 @ ~10k pace (3:30) + 4×400 @ ~10k pace (1:40-45)
  • Actual: 7.75M @ 8:08 w/1M: 7:44, 2×800: 3:29, 3:28, 4×400: 1:43, 1:43, 1:42, 1:49 (?)

This taper medley is always a workout that I don’t end up loving. I look forward to it because, on paper, it is a really fun workout. But at this point in taper, I always find myself a little all over the place on the paces. They end up looking good on paper, but I feel like I am slowing/surging constantly to hit them and don’t feel controlled and smooth. This might also have something to do with how better I am with speedwork on the track. When I have only a lap watch and a split every 200 m, I can lock into 5k or 10k pace like clockwork, but with the Garmin on the lakefront, I am really inconsistent. There are also places where the signals are wonky…like in the last 400 where my Garmin jumped from a 6:05 pace to a 7:49 pace in about 5 seconds and then never equalized out. Blerg.

Wednesday

  • Plan: 20 – 25 min Easy
  • Actual: 3M @ 8:17

It’s weird to wake up and know that my workout is going to take less than 30 min. I kinda like it! Walter and I had a nice, easy run on a chilly morning. I found that picking up the pace just a tad helped me feel a TON better. Running in my normal “easy” range (8:20-8:30) just felt really blah but I found a little spring in my step around 8:15 pace.

After the run I came home to pack and get the dogs ready to go to camp for the night, then headed off to the airport for my flight to Norfolk. Once I got there, I was chauffeur and ring master for our director and managers so that everything would go smoothly for dinner followed by the big meeting Thursday.

Thursday

  • Plan: 20 – 25 min Easy
  • Actual: 3M @ 8:20

I was still dark when I got up at 6 a.m. in my hotel room in Virginia Beach, but fortunately the area I was staying in is well lit. I ran a nice easy 3 miles and felt pretty good. It’s a little hard to tell how you even feel in such a short run.

The work day went really well, but unfortunately I got stuck in the airport that evening with a 4 hour delay…Air Traffic Control strikes again. I finally got back home a little after 11, but it was nice that Brad and I both landed in Chicago at the same time and were able to head home together.

Friday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

I woke up a little tired from a late and somewhat stressful evening, but ready for a busy day of work, expo-ing and dinner with friends. I felt kind of blah all day and a little detached from everything race related, but a solid couple of hours of downtime in the afternoon helped a ton.

Saturday

  • Plan: 20 min Easy w/striders
  • Actual: 3ish Miles @ 8:30ish pace

I slept in as much as I could…until 7:15 or so. I finally got up for good around 8 and then did a little house shake-out run (including Brad!). I didn’t have my garmin on so I have no idea how fast or how far we ran, but it was around 25ish min. The weather was spectacular and my legs felt as fresh as they have since taper started.

IMG_1922

Brad wouldn’t hang around long enough for a picture of everyone, but the girls got one on the lakefront. As Chanthana said…”Walter and his ladieesss.”

Sunday: CHICAGO MARATHON

Totals

  • Run: 23 miles (before the marathon)
  • Cross training: 0
  • Strength: 0
  • Yoga: 0

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, friends, Goals, running, training, walter, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicago Marathon RACE WEEK!

  1. Rookienotes says:

    You got it!

Tell me what you think!

