Friday Fun XV

There isn’t a great deal going on in my running/training world, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t plenty of other things to talk about! This is what I am loving this week:

  1. Miami. Remember a few weeks ago when I went to Sofia’s bachelorette party? Well, I am now on my way to Miami for the wedding! Chicago fall has been amazing until the last couple of days, but I won’t pretend I’m not a little excited for some beach weather before the cold really settles in for good. The weekend with new and old friends will be full of love and laughter and I know the wedding will be absolutely stunning. Brad and I used saved up hotel points to stay at the Ritz Carlton in South Beach, which is amazing and my first time ever staying at a Ritz.
  2. My Dress. While we are talking about the wedding, let’s just go ahead and talk about the dress situation. Although the wedding is “black tie optional”, Sofie has a vision of all of her friends in elegant long dresses dancing the night away. I had a great (but more casual) long dress that I originally planned to wear, but after understanding her vision, I decided to see what I could find that truly fit in the realm of black tie. I toyed with the idea of Rent the Runway, but hated the thought of getting something the day before I left that I didn’t love. So last Saturday I set out to go shopping, with not much hope for the outcome. It turns out that VERY FIRST dress I tried on was absolutely perfect! I tried on a few others to be sure, but knew that this was my favorite.FullSizeRender (5) FullSizeRender (7)
  3. Bears Game. The weekend before last, Brad’s brother and family came into town for a few days. While they were there, we took our nephew, Jackson, to his first ever Bears Game. It also happened to be MY first NFL game. Unfortunately the Bears played like shit and lost to the Dolphins but it was awesome otherwise. Jackson had a blast and the atmosphere was incredible. FullSizeRender (8)
  4. Recovery. I am never quite sure how marathon recovery will go. I have had soreness that lasted for 10 days (Boston) or no soreness at all (Bayshore). I have also had recovery periods where I wasn’t incredibly sore, but it took a really long time for my body to feel like it wasn’t working really hard on every easy run (New York). For Chicago, it has been a little different. I was pretty stiff after the race, but not super sore and day-to-day activities felt normal after only 2 days. I took 4 full days off of running and 3 days of complete rest. I went to yoga on the 4th day and that felt awesome. On the Friday and Saturday after the race, I ran for 5 minutes and 10 minutes respectively, with a whopping total of 1.7 miles for the week. The second week I ran just under 20 miles, all really easy and also got a little ART for my hamstring and calf. This week, I will be back to around 25 miles and I feel really good. I did have a little scare with my lower back last weekend, but it turns out that one quick visit to the chiropractor did the trick. So all of that to say that recovery is going really well and I am looking forward to pushing my body in both running and other ways after a few more weeks of rest!
  5. Ragnar Florida Keys. The day after I posted my “What’s Next?” post and said I had zero plans for this winter/spring, I got a call from my sister-in-law asking me to join her team for Ragnar Florida Keys this February. No one on her team has ever done this race (or any relay) before so Kate and I have been chatting about it for several months when she was looking for tips and advice. Last weekend she mentioned that they might need more people and I told her that I was happy to run with them if they did. When she called, I said yes without hesitating. One of the things that I love most about not training for a big A race in the spring is the ability to easily say “yes” to opportunities like this when they come up. It will be fun to meet new runners and spend time with Kate for a few days in a van 😉 Not to mention, South Florida in February will be a GREAT time to get out of Chicago’s bitterly cold temps.

Alright friends, that’s all I have this week. The biggest GOOD LUCK wishes to everyone running marathons this weekend. Most especially two of my closest running friends, Elizabeth and Jenny. Elizabeth is going to absolutely crush her PR in NYC this weekend and Jenny is set up for a super solid, confident race at Indy Monumental. I think both of them are going to surprise themselves with the outcomes and I can’t wait to follow along from Miami!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Ernie, friends, life, Races, running, swimming, training, Travel, triathlon, workout clothes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Fun XV

  1. Ashley says:

    Long time reader, mostly a lurker…most I just had to come out and say that the dress is STUNNING on you! Great choice! I’m jealous of your friend’s wedding theme….I’d love to have an excuse to get all black-tied-up for a weekend. My weekend attire is basically long run gear, followed by compression gear, followed by pj’s.

    • Corey says:

      You are so sweet 🙂 I loved the dress and felt really good in it this weekend! It was really cool to see everyone so dressed up at the wedding too. I think 75% of the people were wearing black tie attire! And now I am also back to compression & pj’s 🙂

  2. That dress – especially the back – is gorgeous! I love it!!! Your friends vision for her wedding sounds amazing and so classic – have fun! Enjoy your stay at the Ritz and the warm weather!

  3. Pingback: Off-Season Aches & Pains |

Tell me what you think!

