Alive & Running

Wow. 2015. Time got away from me! Last time I posted was right before Thanksgiving. At that time I wasn’t running because of mystery foot pain. That seems like ages ago! Shortly after that post, I saw a doctor, was diagnosed with Morton’s Nueroma and got a cortisone shot. I was back up and running (pun intended), albeit very short distances, a few days later.

FullSizeRender (13)

Brad and I before an easy 3-mile Turkey Trot around his parents’ neighborhood.

I was a bit frustrated in the first couple of weeks after the shot as the numbness and tingling in my toes lingered. But with a little time to let the cortisone continue to work its magic and lots of stretching, by the second week of December I was back to running “normally”.

FullSizeRender (16)

Running normally means strength & ab work before my runs. Walter likes to get in on the action.

 

Now you know…the lack of posting wasn’t an injured running with nothing to write in a running blog! It was merely that before the holidays, it was all I could do to squeeze in a few runs, some sleep and some meals in between travel and work.

There was a trip to Keystone for a little snowboarding in there somewhere. (I say “little” because Brad and I both spent more time in the condo working for the first 2 days than we did out on the slopes.)

FullSizeRender (15)

I also got in a few runs while I was in the mountains, including a “long” run of 8 miles. The altitude and snow running is killer and most of the runs include several “oxygen breaks” (walk breaks).

FullSizeRender (14)

Running is hard, but the views are stunning!

Things were overall crazy with work in December. Between the travel and stress, I got sick for about two weeks. For the first time in as far back as I can remember, I had to take time off of running due to being sick. I missed a couple of easy runs as well as a long run.

Between illness and injury, I think the last two months of 2014 could be summarized as “the time my body wouldn’t cooperate”. It seemed like every time I started to get some momentum, something else happened to set me back. It was slightly frustrating, but it was also the first time in several years that I wasn’t training for anything major in the spring, so the timing couldn’t have been better. In retrospect, I think my body was sending me a message that it needed rest and if I wasn’t going to do it voluntarily, it forced me into it.

The good news is that by the time Christmas week rolled around, I was back to 100% and able to get in some quality runs. Major bonus that we were in Houston visiting family so all the runs were in shorts and tank tops. The wind in Texas was nearly as bad as Chicago, but when temps never dipped below 55, no one will hear me complain! I learned that week (thanks to a few very short speed/tempo workouts) that my fitness had major room for improvement from where I was in October, but hey…that’s offseason, right?!

IMG_2237

With Brad & my Mom on Christmas Eve.

 

We left directly from Houston and headed (via a stopover and wonderful meal in NYC) to Turks & Caicos for a week+ vacation with Brad’s family. Turks was incredible. It was incredibly warm & sunny all week and the relaxation worked wonders for me.

IMG_2225

New Year’s Day. This is the view from the back porch of the house where we stayed. Incredible.

I did quite a bit of running in Turks. It was (gloriously) HOT and after a few days of sweltering on my runs, I learned that getting up much earlier (then napping later) was the best way to get the most out of my runs. I capped off a 35 mile week with a long run the day after we arrived, then ran 37 miles total during the full week that we were there.

FullSizeRender (17)

Super sweaty and happily showing that I ran 10+ miles for the first time since Chicago Marathon.

Being on vacation where I could lay around the pool or beach and relax in the hammock all day makes running more miles really easy. We also drank wine while watching some incredible sunsets in the evenings and then went to bed before 10 p.m. every night, including New Year’s. That’s truly my kind of vacation.

FullSizeRender (18)

 

And, of course, we snorkeled and had some fun with our new GoPro. And chased our 5 nieces and nephews around enough to know that we are still happy to come home to our quiet kid-free house 🙂

IMG_2223

 

Now we are back in the frozen tundra that is January in Chicago. It felt like a shock to my system after a mild December and then over two weeks of warm weather. I haven’t ventured out to run in the bitter temps yet, but I am guessing I will at least attempt an outdoor long run this weekend.

What are the miles leading up to? Well, there’s Ragnar Key West next month, but most importantly, I registered for Bayshore Half Marathon in May. There is a big group of some of my very favorite people running this race and it should be a memorable weekend. We are 20 weeks out and I have never had a dedicated training cycle for a half marathon so I am excited to see what I can do. I am also hoping to work on some speed before going after the marathon again next fall. I am sure I will squeeze in some 5k’s and 10k’s some time this spring as well, but with this Chicago weather, it will be a while.

That was a lot of words (and pics!) and randomness to tell you what I have been up to for the last few months. I have some other posts drafted that chronicled how I was feeling when I couldn’t run that I may dig up and update. I think I will get back to posting weekly workouts again too. Then you can all follow along in my very painful quest to get back in shape and hopefully gain some speed!

Happy New Year everyone! Stay warm!

 

 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in family, Goals, life, running, the boys, training, Travel, Treadmill, Weather, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Alive & Running

  1. Looks like you had some great traveling adventures!
    I love the get up early – workout – take a nap later timeline that vacations allow you! If only we could do this every day…

  2. Im glad your foot is better & you’re back to running.
    Your vacations sounded amazing- what I’d give for shorts & tank top weather right now! Not to mention actually being able to relax for days on end…I feel like I need another vaca myself, but this time somewhere warm 🙂
    I’m looking forward to following along as you train for the Bayshore Half!

  3. I saw the images when you were happily back up and running, so I’m glad to see it’s continuing!! I have been debating a cortisone shot in my knee for awhile, it’s just not recouping on it’s own so I may. Sounds like when doing it in muscles not joints the impact overtime is better.

  4. sounds like a great off season!

    Thanks for the kind words about CIM! What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger right?

    Happy New Year!

  5. Sounds like you’ve been busy, but mostly in a really good way 🙂 Glad to hear you were able to start running again! I got a cortisone shot in my hip in Sept and it took awhile for the soreness to go away and for it to really be effective….it drove me crazy and the whole time I was worried it wasn’t going to work.

    I think my brothers, SIL, and BIL were all happy to go back to kid-free homes after spending a week with our boys too! I laughed when I read that. My brother and SIL loved the boys but I think they made them feel good about their decision to wait a little longer 🙂

    Brian and I were planning to run Sugarloaf in May but just today started talking about maybe running Bayshore again instead…..so we might be up there then too!

  6. Pingback: Bayshore Week 1: Treadmill Central |

  7. elizabeth says:

    i feel like i knew about so much of this…except the gopro!! i’ve been wanting one!! 🙂 so glad you are back at it (and already at much more mileage than me!). is it may yet?!?!?

Tell me what you think!

