Bayshore Week 3: Miles, Yoga & A Thief

17 weeks out from Bayshore. From a pure running and workouts standpoint, the week went pretty well…although my  legs were pretty dead by the end of the week. To be expected as I increase mileage a bit. But (in case you don’t follow me on Twitter), there was an incident Thursday that kind of spoiled the week overall:

FullSizeRender (26)

More details on the incident below, but that put a dark cloud over my week and I was pretty bummed.

Monday

  • Planned: 3M “In & Out” Tempo run w/800’s @ 3:45/3:35
  • Actual: 7.9M @ 7:51 avg. (Tempo: 3:43/3:35, 3:41/3:30, 3:42/3:32)

This is a new-to-me workout so I was excited when I saw it on the schedule. I love tempo runs, but mixing it up keeps things interesting. Monday was a holiday so I took advantage and slept in. When I finally ran around 11, it was sunny and in the upper 30’s with no wind. As far as I am concerned, it is tough to find better running weather – ESPECIALLY in Chicago in January. The paces felt controlled and smooth and I was happy to see that there was a noticeable difference in the 7:10 pace and the 7:30 pace. When I backed off after the fast 800’s, the 7:30 pace felt like cruise speed. Nice little confidence boosting workout.

Tuesday

  • Planned: Strength + 50 – 1:00 Easy Run 
  • Actual: Strength warm-up + 7.1M, 8:22 avg.

Another warm-ish, low-wind day…how is this happening for so many days in a row?! I had to be in Peoria for a meeting at 12:30 so I was a bit rushed to get the strength + miles in and then packed (for me and the dogs) and on the road by 9:30. {I probably should have gotten up earlier?!} The miles felt great and it was fun having Walter with me for the whole run. He was strong and still really energetic at the end, despite this being in the range of his longest runs.

Wednesday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: OFF

I stayed in Peoria overnight so it was nice to have a rest day that allowed me to ride with my SIL to take my niece to school and then watch my other niece at her gymnastics class without having to wake up at some ridiculous hour. I originally thought I might go to yoga in the evening, but decided to make this my one complete rest day and save yoga for Sunday’s no-run day.

Thursday

  • Planned: Strength + Speed w/3-4x(600, 400, 200) @ 5k pace or just below
  • Actual: Strength warm-up + 9.25M, ~7:56 avg. (?, 1:35, 46; 2:25, 1:36, 47; 2:24, 1:35, 46; 2:26)

Well, this was a bizarre day. My plan was to do the first 600 and last 400 and 200 on the lakefront path and the rest of the workout on the track. This would have worked out just right with the warm up and cool down from my house to the track. But unfortunately at the very end of my repeats at the track, some idiot guy (a runner) stole my Garmin! There was no one else at the track when I got there so I laid it on the ground next to the start line and put on my lap watch. A heavy set guy showed up toward the end of my workout but he was running so I didn’t worry too much. {Because what runner steals another runner’s Garmin???} He must have taken it just at the time that my back was to the area where it was sitting because all of a sudden I passed him on my last 600 and then he was gone and so was my watch. I am an idiot for leaving it on the ground and thinking it would be okay. But also, why are people so terrible? Because my Garmin was gone, I didn’t know my time for the first 600 and I skipped the last 400 and 200 of the 4th set. Because #1 I was so pissed about my watch and #2 without the Garmin, it didn’t really make sense to try to estimate the distance on the lakefront anyway. I just used the whole run home as a cool down.

Friday

  • Planned: 50 min Easy + yoga
  • Actual: 6M, 8:25 avg. + Hot Vinyasa Yoga

Walter and I got out earlier than normal for this run so I could get back in time to change, eat and make it to an 8:30 yoga class. I was underdressed/cold on the run and my legs were a little dead from Thursday’s speed workout so it was a bit blah. But as always yoga felt Ah-mazing.

Saturday

  • Planned: 1:30 Run
  • Actual: 11.11M, 8:06 avg.

Perfect running weather. This should have been the ideal day for a long run, but it felt way harder than 11 miles should. I felt comfortable for the first hour around 8:05-8:15 pace, but when I tried to pick it up in the last 4 miles to sub-8:00’s, I felt like I was working really hard. I wrapped up the run with a really good, long stretching session…probably something that I should be doing way more often.

Sunday

  • Planned: OFF or Yoga
  • Actual: 1:15 Hot Vinyasa Yoga

Sunday morning yoga followed by a lazy day on the couch. Ahhhhhh.

  • Run: 41.4 miles 
  • Cross Training: 0
  • Strength: 2
  • Yoga: 2 classes
  • Treadmill runs: 0!! (total treadmill runs = 3)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, friends, Goals, running, Strength Training, swimming, training, Treadmill, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bayshore Week 3: Miles, Yoga & A Thief

  1. Jaclyn says:

    I’m sorry to hear this Corey! I try to have faith in humanity but then things like this happen and it just plain sucks. Sounds like you’re running is going really well though!

  2. Oh no! I can’t believe someone took your Garmin. Who does that? Way to go on a great week and nailing the speed work!

  3. Great running, and what a schmuck for taking your Garmin. Loser. May he have chronic diarrhea at his next race 🙂 Evil, yes. Way to go though, you’re rocking your workouts!

  4. Angie R says:

    People who steal are just broken. I hate that you were a victim – definitely not good for you or the thief.

  5. Ugh, I’m furious for you that your watch was stolen! I tend to think all runners are alike (aka awesome people), until I hear something like this. What a jerk.
    That in & out tempo sounds like a fun way to switch it up. I’ll have to remember it in the future when I’m starting a new training cycle.

  6. Still makes me mad some idiot basically showed up, stole your watch and left. Glad you got to run outside all week though – and with Walter some too! 🙂

Tell me what you think!

