Bayshore Week 4: Keystone Running

16 weeks out from Bayshore. I knew going into this week that it would be a little tricky to get all the miles and workouts in since I would be snowboarding in Keystone during the second half of the week. But thankfully our condo building now has a halfway decent treadmill, which makes runs in the mountains much more feasible.

Monday

  • Planned: 4M Tempo run @ 7:15 – 7:20 
  • Actual: 7.6M @ 7:44, tempo: 7:13, 7:12, 7:09, 7:06

Mid 20’s and no wind. A little colder than it has been, but no complaints from me on January 26th! I spent the first 2 miles of the tempo trying to pull back to goal range and settle there, but couldn’t find that 7:15 – 7:20 pace. Finally by the third mile, I just went with it. I knew the faster paces would make the 4th mile harder (especially since coach had given me the go-ahead to “let her rip” in the final mile), but sometimes it’s tough to find that tiny little notch to slow down and then I end up 10 seconds off of where I should be. The 4th mile was tough, but my body responded when I pushed harder, which is a really, really good feeling and sign that my fitness is coming back.

Tuesday

  • Planned: 1:00 Easy Run + Yoga
  • Actual: 7.1M @ 8:28 + Hot Vinyasa Yoga

It snowed a little overnight (~1″), but just enough to make the sidewalks and Lakefront Path a slushy mess. Between the shifty footing and having to stop to fix Walter’s boots slipping off a couple of times, I was definitely ready to be done with this one. It was one of those days that wasn’t really that cold or windy, but I still felt chilled almost the whole run. Maybe that’s why I never got sweaty during the yoga class? But being in the warm room still felt really, really good.

Wednesday

  • Planned: Snowboarding
  • Actual: 10 Snowboarding Runs

This was originally supposed to be a 50 min easy run day, but my flight to Denver was at 5:30 a.m. which left no option to run before the trip and I planned to snowboard all day once I got there. Coach switched the easy run to Friday and I took full advantage of fresh legs to have some fun on the mountain.

FullSizeRender (27)

Thursday

  • Planned: Speed 2x1M @ 6:40 + Snowboarding
  • Actual: 5.7M, 8:35 avg.; mile repeats: 7:01, 7:03 + 7 snowboarding runs

The ONLY way to do speedwork in Keystone was to hit the treadmill. I was hoping that being indoors would help with the altitude situation that I usually experience during mountain runs. The good news is that it did help some, but I definitely was still feeling the lack of oxygen on the repeats. I started near goal pace, but it became apparent really quickly that holding the pace for any amount of time was impossible. Even at ~7:00, I was struggling to keep up with the belt! I was a sweaty mess by the end of the workout.

Between some work calls and logistics of meeting our friends at Breckenridge, this ended up being the shortest day of snowboarding we had. My legs were definitely thanking me for that.

Friday

  • Planned: 50 min Easy Run + Snowboarding
  • Actual: 5.5M @ 9:01 avg. + 12 Snowboarding Runs

I got up super early again to get the easy run done before we headed over to Vail for a full day on the slopes. Thanks to the season premier of Scandal, the treadmill time went by fairly quickly, but I had to keep the pace slower to make it feel truly “easy” at altitude. This is about where I normally am when I am outside in the mountains, but with much fewer walk/oxygen breaks.

IMG_2307

Liquid courage.

 Saturday

  • Planned: 1:30 – 1:50 Run
  • Actual: 12.5M @ 8:30 avg.

The good news is that we planned to be back in Denver for Saturday morning and running there was at least a little easier than in the mountains. I was able to keep a more “normal” long run pace, but on any inclines, I slowed significantly…that’s where the altitude seems to affect me the most. I was proud of myself for gauging my effort pretty well and not crashing and burning at the end. I also really enjoyed the loop through Denver, that included both Cheesman and City Parks, which are awesome for running and were filled with other runners.

IMG_2302

City Park

 Sunday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

SUPER lazy Sunday snowed in at our friends’ house for Super Bowl festivities. I didn’t get out of PJ’s until 3 p.m. and never ended up going outside all day.

IMG_2306

This was only about halfway through Sunday’s blizzard. Also backyard = Suburbs.

  • Run: 38.5  miles 
  • Cross Training: 3 days snowboarding!
  • Strength: 0
  • Yoga: 1 class
  • Treadmill runs: 2 (total treadmill runs = 5)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, friends, Goals, running, Strength Training, swimming, training, Treadmill, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bayshore Week 4: Keystone Running

  1. I love reading about your training. Looks like you had such a fun time skiing! The effects of the altitude are interesting, I’ve never tried running at altitude, so I can only imagine. Thanks goodness for the treadmill 🙂 And I think it’s adorable that Walter wears little boots to run in when it’s cold! Love that.

  2. elizabeth says:

    fabulous week and you got them all in on vacation. i’m dying to hear updates on this weekend!?!

Tell me what you think!

