Bayshore Week 6: Recovery

14 weeks out from Bayshore. After running 24 miles at Ragnar, Coach set this up as a recovery week. I am glad he did because I think those miles took more out of me than I initially thought they did. I was definitely feeling a little tight in the beginning of most of the runs and just feeling like the “easy” miles were harder than they should be.

Monday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF/Travel

Before Monday, I thought I wanted to run in the warm weather before I left Key West and was kind of sad it was a rest day. After a late night of shenanigans on Sunday night, I was happy for another day of rest and glad that my only exercise looked something like this…

FullSizeRender (28)

Tuesday

  • Planned: 45 min Easy Run + Yoga
  • Actual: 5.35M @ 8:32 pace + Hot Vinyasa Yoga

After two full rest days, I was hoping my legs would be fresh and springy. Not so much. Walter and I went out for a run after work and even though it wasn’t that cold, I never felt like I warmed up. I just felt blah almost the whole time.

I changed after the run and went straight to yoga. Being in the warm room was just what I needed and I FINALLY held a headstand for a solid amount of time! It was that crazy feeling of it just magically happening after trying for so long. (Of course I also tumbled backwards out of one and fell on my arse too…)

Wednesday

  • Planned: 45 min Easy Run + Yoga
  • Actual: 5.5M @ 8:27 avg. 

Walter and I went for a run at lunch and it started just as sluggish as the day before. Finally around mile 2, things clicked and I felt much more like myself again.

I knew I wasn’t going to make my normal evening yoga class because I had a hair appointment, but I hoped to make a late afternoon class at the gym. When the time came around to go, I was feeling sleepy and sluggish and decided to skip it for some rest.

Thursday

  • Planned: “Light tempo” w/3M @ tempo on feel + Light Strength
  • Actual: Treadmill run, 7.15M @ 7:59 avg. w/ tempo: 7:16, 7:14, 7:09 + stretching

I think that last year I would have taken this run outside. It was cold (~10* w/25 mph wind) but really sunny. This winter I just don’t have the same tolerance for those cold and brutally windy days. And thanks to Netflix, I don’t hate the treadmill right now. Although, when my blue tooth headphones died less than 5 min into the warm-up, I wasn’t really stoked. The tempo miles felt comfortably hard and it was nice to get some turnover back into my legs again.

I planned to warm-up with strength stuff before the run, but realized 10 min into the warm-up that I forgot. Then after the run, my legs felt tight, especially my hamstrings so I used the time to stretch a la Amanda’s tips instead.

Friday

Friday morning spin felt really good…just enough of a workout to sweat, but not enough to fatigue my legs. And finally I did almost the whole strength workout (minus pistol squats…running short on time) and wasn’t sore the next day! Progress!

Saturday

  • Planned: 1:30 Run
  • Actual: 11M @ 8:24 avg. (treadmill)

This was hard. I probably could have run outside, but with the crazy wind and cold temps, I just wasn’t feeling it. Jenny and I met at the gym to run “together”, which definitely helped, but I was not prepared for how hard this would feel almost the whole time. I like to think maybe (?) the new treadmills weren’t calibrated properly and I was running faster than I thought? From the looks of this video…I am guessing that was actually NOT the case. Why do I always feel like I am running way faster than I look?

This was during the last mile of a treadmill PDR. Credit goes to Jenny for the video (I didn’t even realize she was back there!)

 Sunday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: 1:15 Hot Vinyasa Yoga

One of my most favorite things ever might be Sunday morning yoga then a full day of relaxing. The class felt amazing and I held another long headstand!!

The only other time I left the house all day was to take Walter to the Blood Drive being hosted at our vet’s office. He met all the criteria to be a donor, but ended up testing positive for an antigen that makes him not a good donor. He was still very proud of his bandanna and treat bag.

FullSizeRender (35)

Totals

  • Run: 29 miles 
  • Cross Training: 1 spin class
  • Strength: 1
  • Yoga: 2 classes
  • Treadmill runs: 2 (total treadmill runs = 9)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, friends, Goals, running, Strength Training, swimming, training, Treadmill, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bayshore Week 6: Recovery

  1. Way to go with the headstand…twice! I’m not close…but that could also be because I haven’t been to a real yoga class in a few months 🙂 Sounds like a good week to get back into things and recover from Ragnar. I always think comparable paces feel harder on the treadmill than outside, it’s one of the reasons I hate doing any kind of speed work on the treadmill!

    • Corey says:

      I have been back at yoga for maybe 5-6 weeks at least 1-2 times a week and the headstand just wasn’t happening. And then…all of a sudden it did! It is such a cool feeling!! And I agree about the treadmill!!

  2. elizabeth says:

    omg WALTER! i didn’t even know dogs could do that?!?! obsessing with yoga, too.

    • Corey says:

      Me either!! They called me Thursday night and asked if we were interested. Requirements are 55+ pounds, less than 7 years old and not on any medication. I thought it would be good karma in case the boys ever need blood someday!

  3. Boo treadmill runs! I like that you’re getting in so much yoga – that’s going to be so beneficial down the line as the mileage ramps up!

Tell me what you think!

