Bayshore Week 7: Mardi Gras Chaser 5k

13 weeks out from Bayshore. When this week started, I wasn’t positive that I would be racing on Saturday, but Coach altered things mid-week to give me a little rest before Saturday’s hard effort. My legs felt pretty good going into the race so the extra rest days worked.

{apologies for the lack of pictures this week! Just lotsa words below…}

Monday

  • Planned: Tempo w/3M @ 7:00 + Light Strength for warm-up
  • Actual: Strength +  7.3M @ 7:44 avg. w/tempo: 6:57, 6:59, 7:00 

It was another cold day, but without the wind, 14 degrees is tolerable for an outdoor run (who am I??). Plus, the sun always makes it feel much warmer than it is. I felt strong on the warm-up and the first 2 miles of the tempo felt like cruise speed. When I hit that 3rd mile, it got really hard and I definitely had to gut out the final few minutes. This is the first time I have attempted a tempo at this slightly faster pace…It’s amazing what a difference 10 seconds in a tempo mile makes.

In case any one is wondering, the “light strength” workouts that I use for a warm-up consist of the following:

  • This workout (minus the single leg hops. I do the lunges as 30 x walking with arms above head to stretch hip flexors)
  • 15 x Single leg squats each leg (10 assisted with non-working leg on a block + 5 unassisted)
  • 25 x Hip raises each side
  • 10 x Eccentric calf raises (both legs to lower down, one leg lifting back up; one leg at a time/not alternating)
  • 15x Single leg raise holding towel against the wall w/my heel (glute activator)
  • Core: slow crunches x 10 + slow bicycles x 10 each side (<– emphasis on pelvis tucked in on both) + slow crunch w/ knee tuck x 10)

This only takes me about 15-20 minutes and being warm & sweaty before I leave makes it much easier to get out of the house. I also notice a difference in how I feel during workouts on a cold day if I warm up with this first.

Tuesday

  • Planned: 1:00 Easy Run + Yoga
  • Actual: 7.2M @ 8:18 avg. + 1:00 Hot Vinyasa Yoga

I woke up to a gray, snowy day thinking, I don’t wannaaaa. But I bundled up and headed out and was surprised at how much fun I had. It was one of those days where I was dressed perfectly for the temps (~18 degrees, 11 mph wind) and it started snowing all around me, making me feel like I was in a snow globe. I was warm, but not too hot…so it felt like my clothes were just giving me a nice little cozy hug as I blinked snowflakes out of my face. #runnershigh

That feeling continued at yoga. I felt super strong and smooth through the flow and poses. It’s kind of like running, where some days are better than others and this was a good one!

Wednesday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: OFF

I really wanted to go to yoga, but two things: 1. It was absurdly cold out and not leaving the house all day was amazing. 2. My legs were generally a little sore from Monday’s workout and Tuesday’s yoga and I thought rest was a better choice.

Thursday

  • Planned: Speed workout w/6×400 @ 1:40 or 5k-ish pace
  • Actual: 5.35M @ 8:04 avg. w/repeats: 3 x 6:39 pace, 3 x 6:35 pace

Quick and sweaty treadmill 400’s. With -25 degrees feels like temps…that was the only way this was happening. Instead of trying to do the math on exact time/distance for 400’s, I looked at the distance when the treadmill got up to the target pace (9.0, 9.1) and then ran for 0.25M. This wasn’t the confidence boosting workout that I would like to have 2 days before a 5k…not because it was hard, I just don’t feel all that smooth at 5k pace on the treadmill.

Friday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Twice in three days that I didn’t leave the house one time all day.

Saturday

  • Planned: Mardi Gras Chaser 5k w/1:30 Total
  • Actual: 12M @ 7:38 avg.; 3.3M w/u @ 7:56 avg (including 8 x strides)+ 3.1M race + 5.7M @ 7:56 w/Jenny

A race report will come, but I hung out with Jenny and drank beer after the race all day and now I am traveling for work…so maybe later this week?!

 Sunday

  • Planned: 50 min Easy + Yoga
  • Actual: 6M @ 8:38 avg. + 1:15 Hot Vinyasa Yoga

Slept in (see above about beer), went for a recovery shuffle in the sunshine (but cold) and then treated my body to some flow, balance and stretching for 75 min at a much-needed yoga class.

Totals

  • Run: 38 miles 
  • Cross Training: 0 (took 2 full rest days instead)
  • Strength x 1
  • Yoga: 2 classes
  • Treadmill runs: 1 (total treadmill runs = 10)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, running, Strength Training, training, Treadmill, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bayshore Week 7: Mardi Gras Chaser 5k

  1. Pingback: Boston Training Week 11: Feb 22 – 28 | PB & PRs

  2. Pingback: Bayshore Week 9: Six |

Tell me what you think!

