Bayshore Week 8: Greenville

12 weeks out from Bayshore. Overall this was a cutback week after last weekend’s 5k. I only ran 4 times making the mileage lower than in the last several weeks, but Saturday’s long run was a solid workout to cap off the week.

Monday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF/Travel

Very much needed rest day after Saturday’s race. I also traveled to Greenville in the morning so it was nice not to have to squeeze in miles before the flight or after work.

Tuesday

  • Planned: 50 Easy Run + Light Strength
  • Actual: 5.9M @ 8:30 avg.

I promised myself that I would get up early and get the strength done before the run, but sleep won out and I needed to get to the office at a reasonable time. Funny that I went all the way to South Carolina where it was 50 degrees warmer when I landed Monday…and then it snowed during this entire run. Also…HILLZ.

FullSizeRender (36)

Wednesday

  • Planned: Speed w/2 x (3 x 400 @ 1:40)
  • Actual: 7M @ 8:14 avg. w/400’s: (1:36, 1:37, 1:35), (1:37, 1:34, 1:33)

It is really, really convenient that there is a high school track exactly 2.4 miles (~20 min run) from where I was staying with friends in Greenville. I ran over to the track, feeling much stronger on the hills than the day before and discovered that the gate was locked. I stood there for a minute not sure what to do and looking for a way in (that didn’t involve climbing the fence). All of a sudden I hear someone shouting behind me, “I’ll let you in! I’ll let you in!”. A man comes running up with the keys saying that he normally has the gate open by now (school was just about to start) but had been lazy that morning until he saw me out there. I told him I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to be out there and he said, “Sure you are!! Go on out!”. And THIS is why I love South Carolina. Since I was on a track (and not a treadmill) and it was warmer than Coach thought it would be in Chicago I decided to push the 400’s a little faster than 5k pace. I felt really good and it was fun to be back on a track.

Thursday

  • Planned: 1:00 Easy + Strength
  • Actual: 7.15M @ 8:23 avg. + Grandma Hips

5ish inches of snow overnight and through the morning plus cold temps sent me straight to the treadmill for this run. I also knew that if I was at the gym already, I would be much more likely to get a solid strength workout done. I was a little bored on the ‘mill, but the run did feel nice and easy, which isn’t always the case with the treadmill for me.

The strength workout was a good one. It is cool to be able to see progress in adding weight or in my form on several of the exercises.

Friday

  • Planned: Spin + Yoga
  • Actual: 50 min Spin Class + Hot Vinyasa Yoga

I squeezed in a quick 50 min spin class before my meetings started for the day. It was enough to make me sweat, but I didn’t want to kill my legs before Saturday’s tempo long run.

I really wanted to get a yoga class in Friday after not going all week. It made for a quick turnaround before dinner with friends, but I was able to hit the 5:30 class. I am not crazy about the instructor during that time…she is the only one at my studio that I don’t love. It was still a solid 60 minutes on my mat.

Saturday

  • Planned: 1:30 run w/30 min Easy + 25 min @ 7:50 + 20 min @ 7:30-40 + 2M @ 7:00 – 7:10
  • Actual: 11.5M @ 7:50 avg.; 30 min @ 8:15, 25 min @ 7:54, 20 min @ 7:36, 7:15, 7:06

I was both excited about attempting this run and terrified about whether I could actually hit the paces. It was VERY cold and I had to wait until 10 a.m., just to let it warm up to double digits. It was sunny, which definitely helped and when I started (going north), I felt great. Even after I turned back south during the 7:50’s I felt smooth and strong. As I pushed the pace down to 7:30’s, I felt like my body could handle it but the wind had picked up, which made me cold and it felt hard. Thankfully I was able to turn back north again for the final 2 miles and that helped a ton. I had a hard time getting the turnover up and the pace down in the first tempo mile, but a quick break (<1 min) to adjust clothing helped and I got close to target pace in the first mile at 7:15 and then pushed hard to get the 2nd mile in 7:06. I felt really, really good about this workout and think on a slightly warmer day, without the wind, that it would have been even better.

FullSizeRender (38)

The clear, sunny days are always the coldest.

The rest of the day was all about celebrating my birthday! I laughed so hard my face hurt.

IMG_2404

Sunday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: OFF

We slept in and then did a bunch of walking around to do errands/shop and get the dogs some exercise. I wanted to go to yoga, but the instructor that I am not crazy about was teaching the 4:00 class and then by the time the 7:30 p.m. class came around, I wasn’t up for heading back out.

FullSizeRender (39)

Seen on our walk to breakfast…a ginormous birthday donut.

FullSizeRender (40)

Fun at the dog park! 

FullSizeRender (41)

Totals

  • Run: 31.6 miles 
  • Cross Training: 1 Spin Class
  • Strength x 1
  • Yoga: 1 class
  • Treadmill runs: 1 (total treadmill runs = 11)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, Greenville, running, Strength Training, training, Treadmill, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bayshore Week 8: Greenville

  1. Happy birthday! Your pictures just look cold – brrrr. I am so ready for it to warm up. And that birthday donut cake looks really good 🙂

  2. elizabeth says:

    dude. i was hoping that donut was your birthday cake!!! solid week of training- i love the plans that involve changing of pace every few miles/20 minutes. makes it go by faster.

Tell me what you think!

