Bayshore Week 9: Six

11 weeks out from Bayshore. I would like to say that March came in with warmer temps, but until the weekend came around, the thermometer wasn’t budging much. But when the warm temps came in, they REALLY came in! Saturday & Sunday were glorious. And fortunately I was still able to get in all my runs outside and had a SIX day running week for maybe only the 2nd time ever?

Monday

  • Planned: 1:00 Easy Run
  • Actual: 7.17M @ 8:22 avg.

I left my house at 5:30 a.m. to go to Lafayette, Indiana for the day for meetings so this run didn’t happen until I got back that evening. I don’t love running at the end of a long day but it did feel good to move after 4+ total hours in the car. I took Walter with me since the weather was in the upper 20’s, but he didn’t have a great running day. He started out super excited (normally an hour barely phases him in cool temps), but once we got to the halfway turn around, he was lagging a bit behind and didn’t have much spunk. I felt bad to keep him going, but it was cold so I just tried to get us home as quick as possible.

FullSizeRender (42)

Tuesday

  • Planned: Speed w/200 alternating @ :45 & :55 x 6-8
  • Actual: 5.7M @ 7:56 avg. 200’s: 43/54, 46/54, 47/56, 47/56, 47/56, 46/58

Wow, this was a tough one. (And I had to read the workout a few times to understand how it worked.) Essentially you are “working” for the duration of the repeats by alternating 200’s at 1 mile race pace and then about 1:20/mile slower. I was targeting 5:55 – 6:00 and 7:15-7:20. The instructions were to quit as soon as either the work or rest fell off pace. It sounded reasonable enough…they are *only* 200’s, after all. But the “falling off pace” happened almost immediately for me. I kept going to get to 6 repeats, thinking my targets may have been a little too aggressive. I had a hard time locking into the pace at both the work and rest and think that it would be much better to do this workout on the track {when the snow melts}.

Wednesday

  • Planned: 45 min Easy Run + Yoga
  • Actual: 5.5M, 8:17 avg. + 1:00 Hot Vinyasa Yoga

It was back to pretty cold temps again, with a high of 20 degrees and some wind. That combined with the above freezing temps from Tuesday made for slick sidewalks between my house and the lakefront. Luckily it was only in patches and it’s only about .6 miles each way. I felt sluggish and slow, but my pace was somehow faster than what my legs were telling me I was running.

After a busy day of meetings, there was nothing I needed more than a good solid hour of yoga. It was a slower class than normal since there were several new people in the class and it was exactly what I needed.

Thursday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

It felt good to lounge in bed a little after I woke up instead of preparing to head out for a run. I drove to Peoria in the afternoon for a meeting Friday morning. It was a fun evening with my nieces and in-laws.

FullSizeRender (43)

I think Ernie had fun too…what do you think?

Friday

  • Planned: Tempo w/3M @ 7:00 (last mile sub-7:00)
  • Actual: 7.3M @ 7:45 avg. w/tempo @ 7:01, 6:56, 6:53

I debated whether to get up and do this run before my meetings started, but it was COLD (8 degrees!) at 6 a.m. I decided to wait since it was supposed to get up to mid-30’s in the afternoon. I ended up running around my in-laws neighborhood before heading back to Chicago so I could be guaranteed daylight. Plus it is nice to mix it up from the Lakefront sometimes. I felt good on the tempo miles and was really, really happy with how these paces felt compared to last time I did this workout.

Saturday

  • Planned: Yoga + 45 min Easy
  • Actual: 1:00 Hot Vinyasa Yoga + 5.37M @ 8:24 avg. (in 45 degrees!!)

The plan was to meet up with the Mikkeller Run Club at 11:15 for the majority of this easy run. But I knew that if I wanted to get in another yoga class for the week that I needed to go before the free beer run. I am glad I went but my hamstrings were so tight that it almost hurt to be in down dog…they loosened up some, but not completely and I definitely need to get some work done on them.

I didn’t quite time my 20 min warm-up right (+ had an emergency bathroom stop back at my house) so I missed the run club group. Fortunately the bartender told me the route and I was able to catch the group on their way back and join them for the last 1.5ish miles. it was a glorious day for a fun run with friends the sun was shining and it was 45+ degrees. {If you live in Chicago, this is a great group, led by my friend Charlyn and her husband Luiz. 40+ people on only the second meeting!}

Sunday

  • Planned: 1:30 Run
  • Actual: 11.11M @ 8:06 avg.

It felt weird to run “long” on Sunday, but I had nothing going on so the time change didn’t bother me at all. Everything felt tight when I woke up so I took my time eating, doing chores around the house and rolling out before I ran. My hamstrings and left calf still felt pretty tight for the majority of the run, but otherwise I felt really, really good. The pace felt easy and I just cruised along. Walter joined me for the first 5.5 miles and had a much better day than Monday. Apparently he likes warmer weather too!

Totals

  • Run: 42.2 miles 
  • Cross Training: 0
  • Strength x 1
  • Yoga: 2 classes
  • Treadmill runs: 0 (total treadmill runs = 11)…dare I say I am done with these for the year?!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, Greenville, Run Club, running, Strength Training, training, Treadmill, walter, Weather, weekly recap, work travel, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bayshore Week 9: Six

  1. Pete B says:

    Nice miles! It was nice meeting you at the beer run on Saturday.

  2. Xaarlin says:

    Your training is going so freaking awesome! Seeing your training is making me want to train for something longer than a 5k!

    Thank you so much for coming on Saturday. I’m really happy that everyone seemed to have a fab time 🙂 hope to see you next time!

    (I think we need to go for a run together with our pups this year!)

  3. Looks like a great week! I don’t like to run at the end of the day either. I always feel so bad when Jesse starts to fade on a run and it looks like we’re dragging him 🙂

  4. Great week! I did a similar speed workout a while back and really enjoyed it, but I was lucky enough to do it on a track in nice weather, and my paces were a bit slower. Hopefully next time you’ll enjoy it more 🙂
    We had some beautiful weather this weekend too- hopefully it’s here to stay!

  5. susanruns says:

    It’s amazing how good 45 degrees can feel after a long winter! Looking forward to some warmer temps. Nice work this week!

  6. elizabeth says:

    killing it 🙂 i’m so jealous you have a track near by.

Tell me what you think!

