Bayshore Week 10 & 11: Emerald Isle Mile & England

9 & 10 weeks out from Bayshore. Halfway! Life has been crazy and all consuming lately, so I got way behind on my recaps. So this is a combined recap for weeks 10 & 11.

Week 10 was a major cutback setting up for Sunday’s Emerald Isle Mile. The timing for some lower mileage couldn’t have been better and I felt good and ready going into Sunday.

Monday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Since I ran 3 days in a row, ending with my long run on Sunday, this was a much needed rest day. I was also able to get into the chiropractor to work on my hips and lower back. My left hip was tight from being in the car so much last week and then I completely wiped out on ice Friday night. That led to some pretty intense tightness over the weekend so I was hoping getting adjusted would help.

Tuesday

  • Planned: 45 min Easy + Yoga
  • Actual: 1:00 Hot Vinyasa Yoga + 5.4M @ 8:22 avg.

I thought I would try Saturday’s plan again and hit yoga first then run in the afternoon. With the tightness in my hamstrings and left side from the fall, I thought this might help loosen things up. I started the class feeling almost as tight as Saturday, but by the end, I felt 100% better. The only problem was that I tried to tuck my chin during a wheel and got SUPER dizzy. Luckily it was at the end of class because the dizziness was overwhelming and then I got nauseated and couldn’t stop sweating. Vertigo. It has happened before and it is awful. I tried a method that my brother taught me to get rid of it. It involves laying on each side for 5 min. It definitely helped, but didn’t completely get rid of the dizziness.

I did run that afternoon, which was potentially a questionable decision. But it was absolutely beautiful and my first chance to run in SHORTS and a T-SHIRT! I ran when I had vertigo before and knew that even though I would be dizzy at first, it would mostly subside after a few minutes. It was the same this time and it turned out just fine.

Wednesday

  • Planned: Spin + Strength
  • Actual: Easy 40 min Stationary Bike + Grandma Hips

I woke up still feeling dizzy so I worked all morning then got some medication at lunch. It helped some, but not entirely so I took it super easy at the gym. I rode the stationary bike very easy, barely even breaking a sweat, then went through the strength routine minus the inchworms, which I didn’t think my dizzy head could take.

Thursday

  • Planned: Tempo w/2M @ 7:00 + Strength
  • Actual: 6.35M @ 7:47 avg. w/tempo: 6:55, 6:54

I woke up feeling much better and took advantage of another super warm day to run in shorts. The easy workouts made my legs feel really fresh and the tempo miles felt strong. Work got crazy and I had to squeeze this in so I didn’t do the planned easy strength warm–up. My dizziness felt better after the run than I had felt all week.

Friday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: OFF

I woke up feeling absolutely terrible. I was so dizzy that everything was making me feel sick. Yoga was completely out of the question. I spent half of the morning trying to get a doctor’s appointment, which I scheduled for Saturday at 8 a.m. The rest of the day was spent trying to work between the dizzy spells. That evening, Char came into town last minute and I learned that vertigo is typically treated by PT’s. She had a friend that specializes in neuro PT walk her through the complete Epley Maneuver. It made me 100% better for the first time since Tuesday.

Saturday

  • Planned: 20 min shake-out + striderz
  • Actual: 2.6M @ 8:21 avg + 6xstrides

I woke up feeling great and joined Char for the first 20 min of her solo 20-miler. It was perfect running weather and I would have loved to keep going (but not for 20 miles!). After the run I went to the doctor and he showed me how to treat myself for vertigo in the future. He also confirmed that there wasn’t something else going on causing the problem.

Sunday

  • Planned: Emerald Isle Mile
  • Actual: 3M w/u + 1M @ 5:56 + 3M c/d

FullSizeRender (46)

Race report to come!

Week 10 Totals

  • Run: 21 miles 
  • Cross Training: 1 bike ride
  • Strength x 1
  • Yoga: 1 class (damn vertigo)

Week 11 started with an overnight flight to London and had lots of ups (literally and figuratively!). I was there for a strategy execution course at Ashridge University.

FullSizeRender (45)

Ashridge Campus

I also confirmed that the sleeping problems I had during my last trip to Europe in November were likely a result of not exercising, as I slept brilliantly on this trip!

Monday

  • Planned: 1:00 Easy (optional)
  • Actual: 5.5M @ 8:35 avg.

Post red-eye run in the English Countryside meant all the hills and light rain. What else would I expect? I always feel better with a run before sitting at work all day, so I was glad that coach put this optional run on the calendar. By the time I got from Heathrow to the Ashridge Campus and checked-in, I only had time for 45 min, but I was really happy to get in a run.

Tuesday

  • Planned: 45-1:00 Easy 
  • Actual: 7M @ 8:45 avg.

If I found the hills on Monday, I found even longer and steeper hills on Tuesday. But at least this time I didn’t find myself on any busy roads with no sidewalks. The vertigo made a brief appearance on Tuesday morning and at the start of this run. The doctor had warned me that jet lag could do this so I wasn’t too concerned. The run helped and I felt great all day in class.

Wednesday

  • Planned: Tempo run w/3-4M @ 7:00
  • Actual: light strength + 9M @ ~8:06 avg.

After struggling to find a good route Monday and Tuesday, I joined a classmate and one of our instructors for this run. Since I had a few minutes before our 6:45 a.m. meeting time, I did some light strength in my room before I met the guys. We did most of the route on trails (some packed dirt and some single track) and the average includes about a 1/2 mile hike up the steepest hill I have ever seen. For the most part of the run, we were in the 7:30-7:40 range on the rolling hills and we had about ~2M @ 6:50-7:00 on a slightly downhill pavement section and then another 1+M @ 7:00 on the dirt path heading back to campus. This run was an absolute freaking blast and even though I didn’t execute the run exactly as planned, it was really fun to mix it up with some trails and with fast buddies.

Thursday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Sleeping in felt amazing after a late night of work after class all day. Being 5 hours ahead makes the work day reaaaallly long.

Friday

  • Planned: 1:30
  • Actual: Strength warm-up + 11.75M @ 7:48 avg.

I did almost my full strength warm-up then joined my buddy Andrew from Wednesday for another trail run. We did the same route from Wednesday and then added on a flat-ish 15 min toward the end to make the total time. Chasing fast people will not only make you faster, but it will definitely boost the confidence. I would never normally attempt this pace for a “long” run, much less on rolling hills with 1500-ish ft. of elevation gain.

FullSizeRender (44)

Pictures don’t even do justice to the views. Also, the fog lifted right after this and we saw the very end of the solar eclipse!

After the run, I hopped on the train and headed up to Birmingham for the weekend to stay with my friends, Ebban and Phil.

Saturday

  • Planned: (Optional) 50 min Easy
  • Actual: OFF

I would have liked to squeeze in this run, but we had plans to head up to Nottingham for the day and I helped Ebban out by watching one of her littles in the morning before we left. We did do a lot of walking around Robin Hood’s home so the day wasn’t entirely restful.

Sunday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF/Travel home

Loooong travel day home. I briefly considered doing the 50 min run from Saturday once I got home Sunday evening, but I unpacked, did laundry then stayed warm and cozy on my couch instead. All I could think was that if it was a nice, warm spring day, I would have definitely run some miles instead of being lazy. Oh, spring, where are you?

Week 10 Totals

  • Run: 33.3 miles 
  • Cross Training: 0
  • Strength x 2
  • Yoga: 0

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, Goals, Races, running, Strength Training, training, Travel, Weather, weekly recap, work travel, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bayshore Week 10 & 11: Emerald Isle Mile & England

  1. ErinAMG says:

    I feel your pain — vertigo sucks! I get it when the seasons change super drastically; I think my doc said it was “seasonal-related vertigo” or something along those lines. Pretty much the only time I didn’t feel it was when I was running; otherwise, walking (or even standing) made me feel like the world wouldn’t stop spinning. Ugh. I’m glad you felt better (eventually). Nice running, Corey!! Looking strong!

  2. I’m eagerly awaiting Spring myself! At least the snow seems to have stopped for good, now I’m just waiting for it to warm up!
    Great job on a solid 2 weeks of training! Especially considering your vertigo & traveling. I had no idea vertigo could be treated by PTs, thank goodness for your friend Char & her contacts 🙂

  3. Pingback: Shamrock Shuffle 8k |

Tell me what you think!

