Bayshore Week 12: Shamrock Shuffle

8 weeks out from Bayshore. Another race week! I don’t even mind cutting back mileage if it means preparing to race on the weekend. I don’t think I raced as many times all of last year as I have so far this year.

Monday

  • Planned: Tempo w/2M @ 7:00
  • Actual: 5.7M @ 7:45 w/tempo: 6:59, 6:56

Coach called this a “get on, get off” kind of workout. I warmed-up, did the tempo and then did a super short cool down. I dreaded the workout all day, even though it was short because we got 5″ of snow Sunday night to Monday morning. I thought the sidewalks to and from the lakefront would be a mess, but in reality they were pretty manageable. It was a heavy wet snow so not super slick. The warm up and cool down miles felt great, but the tempo felt harder than I thought it would. I’ll chalk it up to jet lag and move on.

FullSizeRender (47)

How is this March 23rd? One week after it was almost 70 degrees.

Tuesday

  • Planned: Yoga + Spin
  • Actual: 1:00 Hot Vinyasa Yoga + 50 min Spin

I went to yoga in the morning for the first time in exactly 2 weeks. I really like the instructor in that class. She does a great job of emphasizing form and also has a strong focus on core throughout the practice.

Despite the fact that I was already dressed to go, my motivation to go to spin was zero after a busy day of work. A few texts with Jenny and a reminder to myself of how important cross-training can be, I dragged myself to the gym. And of course, as always, I was really glad I did. I didn’t kill my legs, but an evening sweat felt really good.

  • Planned: 45 min Easy + Strength
  • Actual: 5.4M @ 8:21 avg.

I waited all day for the sun to come out and temps to warm-up. I was busy with meetings during most of that time, but I hoped that by pushing the run to after work, I would at least get some Vitamin D. No such luck. It was cool and windy, but I refused to change out of the shorts I put on that morning when I thought it was going to be almost 50 degrees. Walter had a great time on this run, but I just felt blah (and hungry) the entire time. I am looking forward to warmer temps and getting these workouts done in the morning.

I was sore from either Monday’s pre-run strength (I increased my unassisted single leg squats) or from Tuesday’s yoga class so I traded the strength work for running errands and grocery shopping that evening.

Thursday

  • Planned: Speed work w/6×400 @ 1:35-1:40
  • Actual: 5.85M @ 8:06 w/400’s: 1:35, 1:36, 1:32 (oops), 1:36, 1:34, 1:35

I had some pep back in my legs! Also, I ran in the morning after my 7:00 a.m. meeting got cancelled. It was mid-30’s and a little windy, but at least the sun peaked out for a few brief moments. When it hit my face and my legs were turning over fast during a 400, I could feel myself smiling involuntarily.

I skipped any strength warm-up or workout again because my legs (and upper body) still felt sore from earlier in the week.

Friday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: 1:00 Hot Vinyasa Yoga

It is my least favorite instructor in this Friday morning class, but there is really never a bad yoga class.

Saturday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

We mixed up the taper with a day off completely before the race. It is weird having a Saturday with no running, but it was a super productive day of running errands and hanging with the dogs at the park.

Sunday

  • Planned: Shamrock Shuffle 8k
  • Actual: 10M w/8K @ 6:57 avg.

FullSizeRender (48)

Race report to come….

 Totals

  • Run: 27 miles 
  • Cross Training: 1 spin class
  • Strength x 1
  • Yoga: 2 classes

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, Goals, Races, running, Strength Training, training, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bayshore Week 12: Shamrock Shuffle

  1. Yay, great week! And sub-7 average pace for an 8k….you go girl 🙂 Bayshore is going to be really good for you, I can’t wait to see what you do!

  2. Great week ! As usual, you’re busting out super speedy paces!

Tell me what you think!

