Bayshore Week 13: Early Mornings

7 weeks out from Bayshore. Lucky week 13! I came into this week a little stiff from a hard effort on Sunday. But because I didn’t end up running that much faster than my normal tempo workouts, we treated it like a long tempo instead of a race with full recovery. There was a ton going on this week, so almost every run was started in the dark or just as the sun was coming up.

Monday

  • Planned: 45 min – 1:00 Easy
  • Actual: 6.95M @ 8:22 avg.

I was really tight in the beginning. Partially from Sunday, but also because it was chilly and I didn’t have all the right gear with me. We drove down to Peoria Sunday night for a meeting I had Monday and since the weather was supposed to be warmer, I didn’t bring gloves, etc. Eventually I warmed up and everything loosened up quite nicely. It’s great to be able to do loops and easily drop Walter back at the house when he is tired instead of having to trek back on city streets from the lakefront.

Tuesday

  • Planned: 45 min – 1:00 Easy
  • Actual: 7.15M @ 8:25 avg.

I had a 7 a.m. call so if I wanted to run before morning plans followed by the drive back to Chicago, I had to wake-up really early. I set an alarm for 5:30 but my phone died in the night and it didn’t go off. By some miracle I woke up at 5:39 and was able to get out the door for an hour run and be back 3 min before my call started. WIN. Walter seemed a little sluggish to start (it seems he runs slower in the dark?) so I took off his leash and let him trail me at his own pace. My in-laws neighborhood is small and low traffic, early in the morning. He did AWESOME and stayed right on my hip or just back from me the entire time.

Wednesday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: OFF

My body was ready for a day off. I would have loved to squeeze in yoga, but with Brad home, making dinner and hanging with him was more important than an evening yoga class. We did get in two good walks with the dogs since it was an amazing 65+ degree day!

Thursday

  • Planned: Speed work w/2×1000 @ 4:05
  • Actual: 6.5M @ 8:08 avg. w/repeats: 4:00, 4:00

It rained all morning so I focused on work and planned to get outside once it was dry and sunny. I was rewarded with ALL the vitamin D when I finally ran around 5:30. I also got to go in a tank top and shorts! I did the repeats at the track, which was nice but there was a soccer game on the infield, a junior high track practice and lots of loitering teenagers. I managed to not have any collisions, but dodging people was more annoying that I would like for fast 1000’s. I don’t think I would have hung around if I had more than 2 repeats.

Friday

  • Planned: (Optional) 45 min – 1:00 Easy
  • Actual: Strength warm-up + 7.25M @ 8:19 avg.

Good Friday is a holiday for my company, but with family in town, I got up really early to get in strength and my run before a full day of plans. The last thing I wanted to do at 6:30 in the morning on a vacation day was strength work, but since I skipped it all week, I knew I needed it. I felt pretty good on the run, but my left glute was really tight, so I spent lots of time during the day stretching and rolling it out on the TP Therapy ball.

IMG_2501

We also did a ton of walking with the kids throughout the day…but obviously I let them do all the hard work.

Saturday

  • Planned: 1:30
  • Actual: strength warm-up + 11.2M @ 8:03 avg.

I woke up really early again since we had plans for breakfast and the zoo before everyone headed home. I finished the strength work and was running with Walter by 6:15. Walter was a little tired so I took him back after 3ish miles, then finished up. The overall average doesn’t show it, but the last 7 miles of my run were (accidentally) almost a perfect progression: 7:58, 8:01, 7:55, 7:52, 7:50, 7:49, 7:47. It was one of those days where everything was flowing and I felt like I could have kept going for a long time at that pace.

Sunday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: 1:00 Restorative Yoga

My yoga studio only had one early class on Easter Sunday and since I drank a pretty healthy amount of wine at Jenny’s on Saturday night, that definitely didn’t happen. The good news is that it forced me into getting creative to find another class. I ended up with a free week at Core Power Yoga and the Sunday night restorative class was just what I needed to round out the weekend.

 Totals

  • Run: 39.1 miles 
  • Cross Training:  0
  • Strength x 2
  • Yoga: 1 class

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, Races, running, Strength Training, training, Travel, walter, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bayshore Week 13: Early Mornings

  1. Crowded tracks really irk me- good thing you only had 2 repeats. 1ks are suuuuper hard to me, I struggle to find the right pace every time.
    Nice job getting your runs in, even if it meant running in the dark 🙂

  2. elizabeth says:

    solid week, my friend!!

Tell me what you think!

