Three Things

I was looking back through some old posts recently and remembered how much I used to talk about something OTHER than just my training. I miss that. But with life’s craziness, I just can’t seem to keep up as much anymore. In an effort to not bore you all with weekly recaps, here is a smattering of other life things. I can only promise that this is completely random…not that it will be entertaining 🙂

  1. S’mores Pie. My mom sent me the recipe and ingrediants for this pie as part of my birthday present. I haven’t gotten around to making it until now (mostly because I didn’t want to eat the whole damn thing alone). It was sweet and gooey bliss. IMG_2498
  2. Microchip Registration. Last Friday when we were out and about with family, there was a perfect storm of events that led to Ernie getting out without his collar on. We absolutely panicked and it was a devastating 45+ minutes before we were able to track him down through a series of phone calls to our old vet, PAWS animal shelter, the RFID chip manufacturer, Chicago Anti-Cruelty society and then eventually the very, very nice man who found him. I learned an important lesson that would have saved us at least 30 minutes of panic: just because you get your pet micro-chipped, does not mean that the chip will display your information when scanned by a vet or shelter. You must register the chip and your information with the manufacturer. For ours, it is only $19.95 and can be done on-line. It is well worth the small fee if you ever lose your precious pup. 

    FullSizeRender (53)

    After his big “adventure”. He never even knew he was lost.

  3. Nottingham. When I was in the UK for work a few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to visit some friends that live in Birmingham over the weekend before I came back. Being the uber-hosts that she is, my friend, Ebban, organized a fun group for a day trip to Nottingham (the home of Robin Hood!). This was despite the fact that she had moved into her new house less than a week prior and that her husband flew in from Iceland that morning and had to make the 3.5 hour drive from London to Nottingham to meet us at lunch. Like I said: UBER host. In addition to its storied history, Nottingham is a really cute little town and is also home to Ye Oldest Pub in England. (Thumbs down on the food, thumbs up on the beer and not sure how to feel about the legend of it being haunted). It was a really fun day!
    IMG_2495

    With Robin Hood himself.

    IMG_2496

    With Ebban in the center of the town square.

     

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Ernie, family, life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Three Things

  1. Mom says:

    Loved this post with all the cute pictures!

  2. Ernie!! He looks so proud of himself. So glad it all worked out and someone found him. We had a similar ‘visitor’ this morning – Batch was coming back from his run and a random ‘friend’ joined him. Thankfully the adorable lab, Wrigley, had a collar and we were able to call the owner. Wrigley had a blast in our pool in the meantime (not sure the owner appreciated soaking wet dog in his car, though)! 🙂
    That pie looks dangerous, delicious, but dangerous. Can’t wait to see you in just a few weeks!!!

  3. Um your mom is adorable…I love that she commented 🙂 And a s’mores pie…yes please! So scary about losing Ernie. Thanks for the small (but important!) detail that the chips need to be registered….I’m not sure if ours is or not. And it looks like you have some good friends in Nottingham!

  4. elizabeth says:

    Oh, ernie. so glad he is safe and sound. I need to double check on olive. also- inquiring minds want to know if that is an old lulu bag or if you bought something fabulous that i don’t know about.

Tell me what you think!

