Bayshore Week 14: Building

6 weeks out from Bayshore. And then somehow the race was 6 weeks away…how did that happen?! This was a big training week – the highest mileage since last fall. I had some really good workouts, but also some runs that were less than fun. Given the work and mileage over the previous days, I was happy to end the week on a high note with the long run.

Monday

  • Planned: Temp0 w/3-4M @ 7:00 – 7:10
  • Actual: 8.25M @ 7:39 avg. w/tempo: 7:06, 7:03, 6:59, 6:52

This is one of the best tempo runs I have had in a really long time. I went relatively early so I could finish, change and eat breakfast before my 9 a.m. meeting but it was (finally) somewhat warm so I was able to run in shorts (!). I felt like I was holding back in the 7:05-7:10 range and even felt relatively comfortable at 7:00-7:05. I felt strong in the last mile so I decided to push the pace a little, (which Coach gives me the general go ahead to do on tempos). I have hit these paces for this distance before, but I don’t remember feeling this strong before!

Tuesday

  • Planned: 1:15 Easy Run + Yoga
  • Actual: 9.05M @ 8:19 avg. + 1:00 Hot Power Fusion Yoga

I woke up with a little bit of a scratchy throat and runny nose. Between that and the chilly, misty, dreary weather, I was not excited for this run. The first half didn’t feel great, but once I turned around and had the wind at my back, I felt much better and finished stronger than I started. When I got home, I chased the run with hot Nuun All Day to try to get a boost of vitamins and kick any potential illness that was coming on.

IMG_2502

I felt much better as the day went on, which is good because it was an insanely busy work day that didn’t end until nearly 8 p.m. Needless to say I missed the evening yoga class I planned to attend so I went to an 8:15 Hot Power Fusion class (still taking advantage of my free week). It would have been exactly what I needed with the focus on balance, stretching and mobility, but it was FREAKING HOT in there. I have never taken a class in such a hot room and I really didn’t like it. I was so distracted by the heat and how much sweat was pouring off of my body that I couldn’t enjoy it. I had to take my shirt off to put under my hands in down dog so that I didn’t slide off of my mat. At the end of the class, my fingers were pruned because of the amount of sweat. I may have never sweat that much in my life.

Wednesday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: OFF

I had full intention of going to yoga or at least to the gym for strength work, but I sat down at my computer early in the morning and couldn’t ever get away from it. Then I had to drive down to Peoria (again) in the evening so it turned into a full rest day.

Thursday

  • Planned: Strength + Speed work w/2x1M @ 6:30 – 6:40 + 4×200 “all out”
  • Actual: 7.15M @ 8:09 avg. w/repeats: 6:34, 6:30; 45, 45, 46, 42

I thought that the weather might interfere with this run since storms were predicted, but I somehow squeezed it into a dry window just after dawn. I did this around my in-law’s neighborhood and Walter joined me on the warm up and cool down. The streets are flat, but it was really windy from the south so I tried to stick mostly to east/west roads. The first repeat felt pretty hard and I questioned if I would be able to keep the pace for #2, but the second one felt much better. Super confidence booster.

Friday

  • Planned: 1:00 Very Easy Recovery
  • Actual: 6.9M @ 8:40 avg. + 1:00 Hot Power Yoga

I woke up several times in the middle of the night to the wind blowing so loud that I really thought (in my half-asleep-dream-state) that my house might blow over. When my alarm went off at 6 a.m., I was sleepy and dreading the cold and wind so I procrastinated as long as I could before I had to leave to make it back for my 8 a.m. call. The main thing that got me out the door was that I was supposed to run “slow” so I could slog along for an hour and still call it a success. But as always – slow runs never feel good to me. I felt blah the whole time and was counting down the minutes to be done.

Still taking advantage of the free week I decided to hit up an “advanced” yoga class on Friday afternoon. I promised myself if it got too hard, I would allow myself to relax in child’s pose. I also armed myself with a full towel and a hand towel, which made the heat much more tolerable. Other than how warm and crowded the room was, the class didn’t feel any harder than my normal yoga studio classes. But since it has been several weeks since I held warriors and lunges in a vinyasa class, it did make my legs sore.

Saturday

  • Planned: 1:45
  • Actual: Strength warm-up + 13.1M @ 8:01 avg.

It was a beautiful day and even though, I started with arm warmers, I finished in just a tank and shorts! Walter joined for the first 5ish. I didn’t start to really settle in until after 3 miles, but once I got in a groove, I felt strong for the rest of the run. My legs didn’t have as much pep as last Saturday’s run, but I still finished with the last 7 between 7:50 – 8;00 and the last 3 sub-7:50.

Sunday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: 1:00 Restorative Yoga 

I have completely slacked on strength for several weeks in a row, so I really wanted to get myself to the gym and go through my full strength workout. Unfortunately I was pretty sore from yoga on Friday afternoon and possibly a little from Saturday’s run so I decided to rest and then go to the restorative yoga class in the evening. It was EXACTLY what I needed.

 Totals

  • Run: 44.5 miles 
  • Cross Training: 0
  • Strength x 1
  • Yoga: 3 classes

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, Races, running, Strength Training, training, Travel, walter, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bayshore Week 14: Building

  1. You go girl, you are really picking up some speed! I can’t wait to see what you do at Bayshore 🙂

  2. elizabeth says:

    nailed it!! i HATE (yes, emphasis on the all caps) hot yoga. I went once, thought i was going to die, wasn’t relaxed at all because I was SO sweaty. Just not for me. give me a cool room. needless to say, i’ve never been, and never will, go back. restorative has become my favorite class and how i love to end a hard week. nice work. and WTF 6 weeks!?!?!?!?

Tell me what you think!

