Bayshore Week 15: Virginia

5 weeks out from Bayshore. Before I know it, I will be tapering! Coach is definitely peaking the workouts with both mileage and intensity.

Monday

  • Planned: Temp0 w/5-6M @ 6:50 – 7:10
  • Actual: 9.75M @ 7:48 avg. w/tempo: 7:08, 7:10, 7:12, 7:05, 7:04

I was excited to see this massive workout on the schedule, but also a little nervous because my legs were still feeling a little sore and fatigued from the week before. Coach gave me strict instructions to cut it short if my body was telling me “no” in any way. It was also raining (pouring at times) and windy, but I figured I would give it a shot and see how my body responded. I was pleasantly surprised when I locked into 7:10ish pace pretty easily and didn’t feel like I was working too hard. Unfortunately my stomach did not cooperate in mile 3 (hence the slowest mile) and I ended up taking two quick bathroom stops in mile 4. The further I went, the more I knew that there was definitely not a 6th tempo mile in the cards. I felt good from a cardiovascular standpoint, but my legs were just DONE. All-in-all, not a great run, but not a bad one either (minus the stops).

Tuesday

  • Planned: 1:00 Nice & Easy Run + Yoga
  • Actual: 7.15M, 8:24 avg.

Woke up early and ran with Walter before a busy day of work and travel. It was one of those beautiful, cool spring mornings with bright sun and zero wind. My legs were tired from Monday’s run, but loosened up after about 4 miles.

Unfortunately no time for yoga before my flight that evening.

Wednesday

  • Planned: 45 min Easy Run or Cross
  • Actual: Strength Warm-Up + 5.4M @ 8:19 avg.

BIG BIG BIG DAY! I could have done 45 minutes of cross training, but this was a huge day at work and I couldn’t imagine it starting with anything other than a run. I have spent the majority of the last 2.5 years working on the acquisition of a small technology/software company in Virginia Beach and we finally closed the deal on Wednesday. It was the culmination of a huge roller coaster of events and I am very, very proud and excited. Given all of that, the run itself was a bit of a blur, since my mind was filled with so many things for the day ahead.

IMG_2505

Big Day = New Dress. (And awkward hotel room selfie)

Thursday

  • Planned: Speed work w/8-10×400 @ 1:35-40 (5k pace) 
  • Actual: 7M, 8:33 avg. w/400’s: 1:40, 1:36, 1:35, 1:35, 1:35, 1:34, 1:35, 1:35, 1:34, 1:34

I lucked out and found a high school track about 1/2 a mile from my hotel. It didn’t have a rubberized surface, but is still a good spot for repeats. The workout was not necessarily a strength or speed builder, but more to keep my legs sharp. The repeats felt smooth and controlled, but re-starting after the walk breaks in between seemed to agitate my already tight left glute. I am sure all of the sitting that I was doing while in the office all week didn’t help.

IMG_2506

Friday

  • Planned: 45 min Easy – 1:00 Easy
  • Actual: 35 min elliptical + strength

Since I ran Wednesday when I had the option to cross-train, I decided on a non-impact workout Friday instead of running 6 days in a row. Especially given the tightness in my glute the day before, I thought giving it a rest before the long run would help.

IMG_2513

More awkward selfie-ing. This time of the hotel gym variety.

 Saturday

  • Planned: 2:00 Run
  • Actual: 15M @ 8:06

It was pretty warm in Richmond (65+), which felt awesome after all the cool mornings in Chicago, but I definitely wasn’t prepared from a hydration standpoint. I thought I would find water fountains around the city, but never did. I surprisingly felt pretty good until the last couple of miles when I was definitely very thirsty. It wasn’t as severe of a bonk as I anticipated once I realized there was no water to be found, but I didn’t finish nearly as strong as I would have liked. I also missed a turn earlier in the run so I ended up having to walk ~2 miles after I finished. The route gave me a solid tour of Richmond, which is a really great place to run (minus the lack of fountains!).

Sunday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Brad and I walked around Cary Town in Richmond, had pizza at Mellow Mushroom (!!), took a nap, saw a movie and did laundry at the hotel…the best mix of productivity and relaxation.

 Totals

  • Run: 44.4 miles 
  • Cross Training: 1 x elliptical
  • Strength x 2
  • Yoga: 0 classes (sadz) 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, Races, running, Strength Training, training, Travel, walter, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bayshore Week 15: Virginia

  1. Congrats on your work gig – I can only imagine how exciting it must have been after working on it for so long! Way to push through those tough workouts and nail your paces. And I LOOOOOOVVVEE Mellow Mushroom – we just picked up a pizza from there on Sat night and then I had 2 left-over slices after my long run on Sun, it was heaven 🙂

  2. elizabeth says:

    yayayayay it finally closed!! and, you are nailing the workouts- especially those 400s. how did you get so lucky to find a track so close!?!? and, way impressed with your LR pace for 15 miles. only a few more weeks!!

  3. Pingback: Here we go again… |

Tell me what you think!

