Bayshore Week 17: Peak Week

3 weeks out from Race Week. It was a massive week…like marathon training style mileage. But it was the last big week before a pretty dramatic cut back starting this week.

Monday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Long run Sunday meant rest day Monday.

Tuesday

  • Planned: Strength warm-up + 7-8M Progressive Tempo w/2 @ 7:40-50, 2 @ 7:30-40, 2 @ 7:15-25, 1-2 @ 6:50-7:10
  • Actual: Strength warm-up + 10.4M, 7:39 avg. w/tempo: 7:43, 7:40, 7:34, 7:30, 7:21, 7:15, 7:04, 7:02

YES!!! I love a good progressive tempo and it felt AH-MAZING to nail this one. This is a much-needed confidence boost after the low energy runs last week. I had a 6 a.m. conference call with Europe so I did my strength stuff while I was listening in at the end of the call (bluetooth headset FTW) then ate a quick breakfast before heading out. Still in capris, long sleeves and a headband in the mornings (WTF Chicago?), but at least it was super sunny and not quite as windy as the last few days.

Wednesday

  • Planned: 1:00 Easy + Yoga
  • Actual: 7.15M, 8:25 avg. + 15 min Yoga

My legs were dead from Tuesday’s beast of a tempo run so this was a bit of a slog. I took Walter with me for the first 4.5ish (his first run since being sick!) so that helped break up the time, but I was happy when the clock hit 1:00. I originally planned to go to yoga after the run, but since my legs felt so tired, I decided my body needed recovery more than yoga. Instead I did this video, which is meant for pre-run, but worked really well as a post-run session too!

Thursday

  • Planned: 45 min Easy + Yoga
  • Actual: 5.3M, 8:25 avg.

My legs felt much better than Wednesday, but it was windy. Going north felt like running into a brick wall!

Friday

  • Planned: Speedwork w/6-7×800 @ 3:15-20
  • Actual: 9.9M @ 8:04 avg. w/800’s: 3:19, 3:16, 3:16, 3:16, 3:13, 3:15, 3:13

Perfect weather morning and first time back at the lakefront track in a while. The 800’s were strong, controlled and smooth. I did extend the rest a little to finish a complete 400 (~2:40) instead of the 2:30 prescribed.

The only complaint I have about this run was the swarms of bugs that were hovering around one side of the track. I swallowed so many that I don’t even want to know…

FullSizeRender (56)

I was wearing a long sleeve shirt and underneath my shirt still looked like this on both shoulders. Gross.

 

After the run I saw Conor at Delos and then drove down to Peoria for the day.

 Saturday

  • Planned: 45 min Easy/Cross or OFF
  • Actual: 5M @ 8:35 avg.

I was surprised at how nice and loose my legs felt. I ran after I drove back from Peoria in the morning, so it was warm, but it felt so good to finally be in shorts and tank.

I finished my run at Northdown to meet up with the crew after Mikeller Run Club. We ended up on my roof deck later that afternoon. And this happened…

FullSizeRender (57)

Notice the cork floating in the bottle. And the empty one next to it. I wish I could say I was sharing this with more than just Chanthana.

 

IMG_2535

…And then THIS happened. I love these humans.

 

The good news is that it was an early night, but still probably not good pre-long run prep.

Sunday

  • Planned: 2:00 Easy Run
  • Actual: 15M @ 8:08 avg.

I drank a ton of water in the morning before I left, but it was definitely warmer than I am accustomed to and well, I drank a bottle of wine Saturday. But I felt surprisingly pretty good, other than my legs were absolutely feeling the mileage and hard workouts by the last few miles.

 Totals

  • Run: 52.8 miles 
  • Cross Training: 0
  • Strength x 1
  • Yoga: 0 classes, 1 short video

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, friends, Goals, Races, running, Strength Training, training, Travel, walter, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bayshore Week 17: Peak Week

  1. Pete B says:

    Congrats on all the miles and all of the wine! Those bugs = yuck! 🙂

  2. Awesome job on that tempo! Nailing a tempo always feels much better than nailing speedwork or a long run workout to me- tempos are intimidating.
    What is it with swarms of bugs!? I had the same problem last week during one of my runs. So disgusting.

  3. Nice week!! Looking forward to being done with my recovery and back into some higher mileage. I actually have a progressive tempo run planned for tomorrow – I can’t wait!!! You are in the home stretch now!!!

  4. elizabeth says:

    omg those the THE BUGS from last year. EEEEWWW. your nailing it dude.

Tell me what you think!

