Bayshore Week 18: Cutting Back in Virginia Beach

2 weeks out from Race Week. Still a solid week of training, but a big cut-back in mileage from the 50+ last week. I am grateful for that given the business of the week and travel. I was in Virginia Beach for work all week so things were a bit hectic and I was up at 5:30 every morning to squeeze in the runs. But a long workday following a good run is always better than sleeping in!

Monday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

4:30 a.m. wake-up and travel day to Virginia.

Tuesday

  • Planned: 3M Tempo w/2 @ 7:00ish
  • Actual: 7.2M, 7:52 avg. w/tempo: 7:02, 6:59, 6:56

A 5:30 a.m. wake-up call was rewarded with an incredible sunrise on the beach. I ran on the boardwalk in Virginia Beach, which might be the only place other than Chicago that I have experienced a headwind in both directions 🙂 In reality the wind was blowing from the southwest and swirling among the buildings, making it feel like I never got any relief. In the brief moments where the wind let up, the pace felt comfortable and strong.

FullSizeRender (58)

When work overflows into the evening, I can’t complain about adopting my hotel balcony as my “office”.

Wednesday

  • Planned: 1:00 Easy + Yoga
  • Actual: 7:15M @ 8:24 avg.

My legs were a little tired, but the wind was much less of a factor than it was on Tuesday. I will admit, as beautiful as it is running along the beach, I got a little bored with multiple out-and-backs along the boardwalk. But I do appreciate having the option versus circling a mall parking lot like on some trips.

I would love to pretend that I got up at 5 instead of 5:30 a.m. and squeezed in a quick yoga session, but I really just wanted that extra 30 min of sleep so it didn’t happen.

FullSizeRender (59)

With the clouds, the actual sunrise wasn’t as stunning as Tuesday’s, but the moments before it rose, the whole sky was lit up in pink.

Thursday

  • Planned: Strength warm-up + 45 min Easy + Yoga
  • Actual: 5.4M, 8:21 avg.

I was really proud of myself for waking up at the same time as I had in the previous days when I had longer runs and using the extra time to get in some strength. My legs felt much less tired on this run than on Wednesday. It’s amazing how much different my body feels the day after an easy run than a tempo or speed workout.

Super happy to end the day with Brad and the dogs arriving in Virginia Beach for the weekend. It felt so good to be back together with all my boys!

Friday

  • Planned: Speedwork w/8-10×400 @ 1:35-40
  • Actual: 8.3M @ 8:30 avg. w/repeats: 1:39, 1:37, 1:39, 1:36, 1:38, 1:37, 1:38, 1:36, 1:37

The wind was back with a vengeance for this speed workout. It’s pretty easy to tell that the odd number repeats were into the headwind and the even numbers were with a tail wind. The effort also felt so much easier with the wind behind me…I felt like I could have cruised at about 6:28 pace forever.

Brad and I ended the day with a long walk (and Dairy Queen!) on the boardwalk with the dogs.

 Saturday

  • Planned: OFF/Yoga
  • Actual: OFF

Early morning breakfast with Brad at Citrus (a-mazing pancakes, btw) followed by lots of driving around and seeing Virginia Beach. We also went to check-out the local Nordstrom…which was the smallest one I have ever been to! We ended the day with another long walk on the boardwalk.

Sunday

  • Planned: 1:30 Run
  • Actual: 11M @ 8:11 avg.

I knew it was going to be hot and humid so I got up and started the run at 6 a.m. Walter happily joined me for the first 4 miles, where we both proceeded to stop for the bathroom twice (me in a porta potty and at the hotel and him…well, I am glad I had two poop bags!). At least I had company in my stomach issues. This is happening more often than I would like to admit lately, but I am 90% sure it is stress-related, since this is typically how my body reacts to stress. I ended up having a pretty decent run overall, despite the warmer temps and upset stomach. I also got to check-out the state park for the first time, which is a really awesome place to run. And I finished much faster and stronger than I started, which is always good.

We got breakfast, then Brad and the dogs headed back west to Roanoke and I spent the majority of the rest of the day in my hotel working.

 Totals

  • Run: 39 miles 
  • Cross Training: 0
  • Strength x 1
  • Yoga:0

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Races, running, Strength Training, the boys, training, Travel, walter, Weather, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bayshore Week 18: Cutting Back in Virginia Beach

  1. Nice job this week, especially since you were away for work! Jealous at your time at the beach!

Tell me what you think!

