Here we go again…

Along with the big announcement that I mentioned in my weekly recap a few weeks ago, came a big life change. It is something that I have known was coming for a while now, but the timing was uncertain.

We are moving. Again.

This time to Virginia.

The acquisition at work brought an exciting new job opportunity for me, but the position requires me to be on-site in Virginia Beach almost full-time.

About a year ago, I talked about Brad taking a new job opportunity of his own. I have also mentioned him being gone, or more importantly talked about the times he was home, over the last year or so. His job completely coincidentally also happens to be in Virginia. His company is headquartered in Roanoke, but since Brad manages facilities across the whole state, he will be based in Richmond. Virginia Beach and Richmond are about 90 minutes from apart, which is definitely too far to commute, but Brad and I will be living MUCH closer than we are now between Roanoke and Chicago.

So, how do I feel about all of this?

On one hand, I am incredibly excited for the opportunity to help with the integration of the new company and all of the professional growth that it will offer. I am already learning that there is a great deal of responsibility in this the new position that is far outside of my comfort zone…new challenges and new responsibilities are tough, but fulfilling. I am also very, very ready to live something closer to a “normal” life with Brad. The 1.5 hours separation will be so much easier to manage than living 5 states away. We won’t be together every night, but at least we will always be together on the weekends and rarely away for more the 3 nights at a time. That part is, by far, the best thing about the move.

On the other hand, my heart breaks when I think of leaving Chicago. I love this city more than I can even express. I know it’s only been two years, but no place has ever felt quite like home in my adult life like Chicago has. I feel like I belong here. I have dear friends that I can’t bear to think about leaving…my heart wrenches and tears flow just writing about it. I also love, love, love my house. The renovations we did in the early days were painful, but the result is something that we are proud of. I worked from home and spent so.much.time. in this house (some days in the winter, I never left!) and never once felt cabin fever. And yes, Chicago winters are the worst, but, gosh, the summers…they can’t be beat. Worth every snowflake, sheet of ice and sub-zero day.

Starting over will be difficult. Living between two cities will also be difficult. But Brad and I will start over together and we will (finally) have each other to spend time with. I know I will have to work hard to meet new people, make new friends and find new running buddies and training partners. I am not really looking forward to that part. I have some of the best friends I could ever ask for here in Chicago. I can’t even imagine finding those special people anywhere else. (Here come the tears again.)

But I have to admit…never having to ride my bike on the Lakefront again definitely does not make me sad. And the possibility of training through the winter again seems a little exciting.

Richmond is a beautiful place. The city is charming and full of runners and cyclists and friendly people. And our new house will also be all our own (our biggest renovation yet!). Virginia Beach also seems to have an awesome outdoor community and I will be living right next to a state park and close to a ton of great running trails.

It’s not Chicago, but it will be home.

We are scheduled to close on our house in Chicago on June 19th and will be making the final trip (for now) to Virginia that same day. One month from today.

Please tell me…who do you know in Richmond? Virginia Beach? I need internet-turned-real-life friends, because they are the best (I know from experience)!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, family, life, Moving, running, the lake, training, Travel, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Here we go again…

  1. Best of luck with the move!

  2. Ashley says:

    Yay for being closer to Brad and for new job opportunities! I am not that far south, but I’m in northern VA (near D.C.). Summers up here are hot and muggy, but the autumns cannot be beat. And the Richmond marathon is – far and away – my absolute favorite race. And I almost always make the trek to VA Beach for Shamrock and RnR. The RnR course sucks, but I love the beach enough to run it.

    You will love it here eventually 🙂

  3. Good luck with the move! I hear Richmond is amazing 🙂

  4. Jeni @ stepping out says:

    So when I finally make it up to Chicago you move. 😉
    Seriously though, congratulations! I know the distancr couldn’t have been easy. Good luck with the move!

  5. Wow! When I saw the title, I thought the title was referring to Bayshore and was going to be goals and such. Congratulations! It sounds like an amazing opportunity for you professionally and for you and Brad. But I can understand how hard it will be to leave Chicago. I lived there for two years and loved it. At least you have such good friends there that you’ll have good reasons to visit 🙂 I hope to see you this weekend!

  6. congrats on the close, the new role and the new house! Moving is always bittersweet but it sounds like this will be a great career and personal growth opportunity!

  7. Jodi says:

    Wowzers, congrats and good luck!

  8. Hollie says:

    I’m originally from VA beach and travel back frequently. I love that area…it is big enough that there is something to do but small enough that it’s not a huge city. Best of luck in your move!

  9. emily says:

    Awww, congrats, Corey (and Brad)! I firmly believe everything big in life happens for a reason, and while this move is bittersweet, it will ultimately be amazing for both of you. Plus, Richmond is adorable and, most importantly, has great beer. Lots of luck with the transition!

  10. ErinAMG says:

    Totally get everything you’re going through. The two months Connor and I were apart before we did our big cross country move sucked, but as much as I hated leaving Chicago, it was so nice to be back with him and to reunite our family. No doubt you will make an incredible impression in VA as you did in IL ♡ thinking of you! (And can’t wait to see new pics of your new, beautiful home!!) xoxo

  11. elizabeth says:

    😦 excited and sad for you all at the same time. and excited I have a new place to visit!!! I know you will quickly make new friends and a home out of it all. and, I thought the same as beth about bayshore…see ya in t-minus 12 hours!!!!

  12. so glad we got to talk all about this last week! I am excited for you as I know you’ll find ways to make this place a great home too.

  13. I grew up in Chgo (Oak Park), it IS hard to leave….I left, then came back for family reasons, left again. I live in Northern Virginia just outside DC now.

    I enjoy visits to Richmond (their half/full pretty good, my half PR is from there, ran full last yr) – check out @cpherson3 @easierthanchemo and ask them for more info re running. I’m sure there is a community, local stores and I know they have some nice trails. (The Daily Kitchen is a GREAT restaurant @dailykitchenbar )

    For the VaBeach area, talk to @imperfectcak @allyspeirs @britishbulldog @kris_law – there are good groups in that area, lots of runners/races. I think @allyspeirs daughter works at local running store. I BQ’d at Shamrock there last yr. And you won’t be too far from all the races, groups, events along the route up toward DC/MD and in the DC region.

    Welcome!

  14. Pingback: Bayshore Half Marathon: The Race that Wasn’t |

Tell me what you think!

