Bayshore Week 20: Race Week

It was finally Race Week! It was the best timing ever because I finally was back in Chicago for the whole week. That gave me a chance decompress from work stress and have a productive week of getting things done and digging myself out of a big hole of work load. That was MUCH needed after the last 6 weeks on the road and being constantly tied up in meetings. It also meant healthy lunches and dinners at home and then relaxing with a glass of wine in the evenings. This is ideally the best way to prepare for a race.

Monday

  • Planned: Tempo run w/2M @ 7:00 – 7:10 + 3×400 @ ~1:38
  • Actual: 6.5M @ 8:08 avg. w/tempo: 7:01, 6:57 & 400’s: 1:37, 1:38, 1:39

I got up early to run before my morning meetings and it was already pretty warm, but thankfully not too windy. My legs felt dead. The tempo miles felt hard, but even as I tried to pull back (to make it easier, duh), I couldn’t reel it in. I guess that is good, but I was a little nervous about how heavy things felt. The 400’s felt better than the tempo miles though…it was good to get the turnover up.

Tuesday

  • Planned: 25 min Easy Run
  • Actual: 3M @ 8:16 avg.

Cold front! The first half mile felt sluggish, probably in-part because of the colder temps. I felt better as the run went on, but still not super peppy yet.

Wednesday

  • Planned: 25 min Easy Run
  • Actual: 3M, 8:21 avg.

It was warmer and the legs were starting to feel a little more pep.

Thursday

  • Planned: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

A day off timed perfectly with one last trip to Delos and then the evening drive to Traverse City after Brad landed in the afternoon. We weren’t able to get on the road until about 4:40 so we didn’t collapse in bed in Michigan until 11:30 Eastern time.

Friday

  • Planned: 20 min shake-out + strides
  • Actual: 2.6M, including 5 x strides

Brad got up super early to golf with Molly‘s husband, but I was able to fall back asleep until 9! Since I woke up so late, I had to work all morning before squeezing in my shake-out run at noon. Our hotel was on a busy highway so I spent the entire 20 minutes running laps around the Best Buy parking lot. You do what you gotta do!

After a quick shower, I had lunch with the Chicago crew when they got in town and then we headed over to the house to meet up with everyone and hang out for a bit before going to packet pick-up.

Manny, CT, Jenny, Me, Molly, Elizabeth, Holly, Batch

 

 Saturday

  • BAYSHORE HALF MARATHON – I will write something about the race soon. It will not be a race reportSpoiler: It was NOT a PR.

Sunday

  • The Plan: Relaxin’ and recovering with great friends in Traverse City
  • Actual: CHECK!

FullSizeRender (62)

 

 Totals

  • Run: 30 miles 
  • Cross Training: 0
  • Strength x 0
  • Yoga: 0 class

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Races, running, training, Travel, Weather, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bayshore Week 20: Race Week

  1. I can’t imagine running circles in a parking lot to get my miles in- I’d likely find a treadmill 0_0
    I’m always impressed at your ability to train the way you when traveling so much, even if race week was mostly spent at home 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to read about the race! Great job, PR or no PR!!!

  3. Such a great weekend…even without ALL the PR’s. And I agree with the above comment, I’m always impressed with your dedication and ability to get it done even with your busy schedule. xoxo

Tell me what you think!

