USAT Nationals Week 1: Starting from Scratch

After my less than ideal performance at Bayshore, several people asked me if I would go for redemption somewhere. Jenny and I talked about picking a 10k and giving it a shot since we knew we had more in us from this spring, but I ultimately decided to switch gears altogether. I am racing USAT Nationals again this summer and I needed to get back on the bike and in the pool ASAP. I know that this is the right decision because in the small handful of easy runs since Bayshore, my body is still dragging a little. So back to triathlon training it is…

11 weeks until USAT Nationals

Here we go! Getting back on the bike and in the pool are never easy after so many months off and traveling makes it even harder. Finding a place to swim and a safe route to ride in a new place can be overwhelming, but with some research (how did we do anything before the internets?!), I squeezed in a decent first week of training.

While the volume of workouts was a little high coming off of a race, it was all at easy (or VERY easy) effort. The goal was to shake-out the cobwebs and get accustomed to two-a-days again.

Monday 

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual OFF

This was the final day in Traverse City for Memorial Day weekend. I thought I might be ready for an easy run, but when I saw Coach gave me another rest day, I was happy. My shins were still a little sore from the short steep downhill in mile 2 and I felt generally tired. We headed back to Chicago around 12:30 and made it back in time to unpack, do laundry and re-pack for a long work/family/work combo trip.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: 45 min – 1:00 Easy Run + 1:10 Easy Ride w/9×1′ hills
  • Actual: 5.5M @ 8:30 + 1:01 ride (15M) @ 14.9 mph w/9×1′ pick-ups 

My legs actually felt surprisingly decent on the morning run. They were much looser than I expected and my body generally did not feel that fatigued at all. After the run, I quickly finished packing then was off to the airport.

I worked all afternoon, went to a work dinner, then convinced myself to go to the hotel gym and get in a super easy spin on a stationary bike at 8:30 p.m. Unfortunately the hotel only had a recumbent bike and the ride was easy enough that I didn’t even break a sweat (and I swear I normally sweat just walking through an airport with luggage!). I did do the 9×1 min as pick-ups, just to keep it interesting.

Wednesday

  • Plan: 2000 Swim + 45 min – 1:00 Easy Run
  • Actual: 1700 m Swim (main set: 10×100, 5′ RI)

The local pool that I found in Virginia Beach was really cheap to join, but doesn’t open until 6 a.m. I was waiting outside when it opened, but by the time I bought my day passes and registered, I only had about 30ish minutes to swim before I had to get back to get ready for work. The first swim back is always a very humbling experience. I tried to ignore the times on the clock for the 100’s…it does me no good to know how out of shape I am!

IMG_2592

Great (and cheap) pool but the water is WAY too warm.

I thought I might be able to squeeze in an easy run after yet another work dinner, but my stomach was really upset when I got back to the hotel and I knew running would be a recipe for disaster.

Thursday

  • Plan: 1:25 ride w/9×20″ sprints 
  • Actual: 18.5M ride (1:16) @ 14.8 mph + 3×45″ plank

Back on the recumbent bike in the morning before work. This time I actually broke a legit sweat and tried to keep the effort up, but somehow the pace was even slower than Tuesday night?! I did some planking after the ride, just for the heck of it.

FullSizeRender (63)

Hotel gym with a side of Netflix.

I toyed with the idea of doing the run from Wednesday between work and dinner with two (fun) co-workers. I even took running clothes with me to work so I could go to a nearby park, but I didn’t have quite enough time. Then we drank sake and wine at dinner and all ended up at the candy store instead…

Friday

  • Plan: 45 min – 1:00 Easy Run + 2100 Swim
  • Actual: 6.55M @ 8:25 avg. + 2100 swim (main set: 4×200, alternating 50 ascend/50 descend, 6×50 “sprint”)

Early morning run in Virginia Beach before work. It took a solid 2 miles for my body to wake-up, but once it did, I felt really good. I was happy to just cruise at an easy pace and let my body stay nice and loose.

I headed to the pool after work to swim before driving to Richmond. The swim felt much better than the one a few days earlier, but I just tried to ignore the times on the clock for now.

Saturday

  • Plan: 1:30 Run
  • Actual: ~7M in 1:00

I spent the night in a small town just outside of Richmond and some quick research told me there was a park with paved and single-track trails about a 1/2 a mile away. Being under the tree cover in the park kept me nice and cool on a warm day, but my legs were just not having it. I did one loop on the paved path and then took the single-track around for a few more loops. It was a ton of fun to be off-road with a little climbing, but my body definitely wasn’t up for the full 90 minutes so I cut it short and headed back to the hotel.

2015-06-07 10-39-40_Rockwood Trail Map (P) (2)

2780-1220744634

Single track. (But not my picture)

After the run I headed over to meet up with Brad and his parents in Farmville, VA for a full day of furniture shopping.

Sunday

  • Plan: 1:30 Ride + 10 min Transition Run + 1600 Swim
  • Actual: 22.9M ride (1:25) + 1.2M @ 8:25 avg.

Brad and I slept in, got brunch and ran a bunch of errands all day before I finally had a chance to sit down and figure out where I could ride. Thankfully Richmond’s local bike club has a ton of cue sheets on their website and I mapped a countryside route near Brad’s hotel in Short Pump (outside of Richmond). I rode out around 4:00 and it was hot, but the route was rolling and really pretty. I found myself smiling and happy to be on the bike for the majority of the ride, but my bike needs some adjustments and my riding legs are definitely out of shape. Toward the end, I was more than ready to be done. On some of the hills I felt like I was peddling and spinning away and barely moving. Definitely have some work to do.

FullSizeRender (66)

I originally planned to drive back to Virginia Beach in time to get in that 3rd swim for the week. Instead I chose to hang with Brad and the dogs in Richmond a little longer. No regrets on that one. I ended up getting to my hotel around 10 p.m. and had just enough time to re-pack all my stuff before my flight to Boston the next morning.

Totals

  • Swim:  3960 meters
  • Bike: 56 miles (33 on the recumbent bike)
  • Run: 20 miles
  • Time: 7 hours 45 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

