USAT Nationals Week 4: Move Week #1

8 weeks until USAT Nationals

The (first) big move week was last week. I knew it, would be interesting as far as my workouts went and wasn’t sure exactly how it would play out. I planned the days as I normally would and included all of the workouts and just figured I would play it by ear and see what I had time to squeeze in. I am happy to say that it actually went really well! With the exception of one swim, I got in all of the planned workouts!

Monday 

  • Plan: Tempo w/2-3M @ “feel” 
  • Actual: 6.75M @ 8:01 avg. w/tempo: 7:12, 7:08

My legs were dead from the weekend’s workouts and it was 73° with 95% humidity. Needless to say my expectations for the run were pretty low. The first half mile of the tempo, my pace was all over, but I eventually locked in close to my “normal” tempo pace. I was only supposed to go for the 3rd tempo mile if I felt like a million bucks. I felt FAR from that (more like $1) so I pushed the pace as much as I could and wrapped it up at 2. I finished completely drenched in sweat, with no dry spot on my body or clothes.

The movers came a few hours later and the craziness of the week began.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: 1:15 Ride w/6×5′ Hills Climbs + 2400 Swim
  • Actual: 19.35M Bike @ 15.6 mph (1:15) + 2250 m Swim (main set: 7×100 w/5″ RI, 7×100 sprint w/1′ RI)

It rained all day and all night on Monday so the lakefront was a huge mess Tuesday morning. The debris, sand and puddles were a good test of my bike handling skills. I scrapped the hills climbs because there are no hills in Chicago to climb anyway and the wind out of the north was so strong that the 2nd half of the ride felt like climbing one huge hill.

IMG_2641

The only clue that the wind was blowing like hell is the choppy water in the otherwise calm harbor.

After lunch I snuck away from the house and movers long enough to get a quick swim at Lincoln Park Athletic Club. I don’t love swimming in the 20 yard pool there, but it was a little too chilly for an outdoor swim at Holstein Park.

Wednesday

  • Plan: 50 min – 1:00 Easy Run + 2400 Swim
  • Actual: 7.2M @ 8:19 avg. (progression: 8:43, 8:29, 8:18, 8:12, 8:05, 7:58 & c/d @ 8:24)  

I woke up at 5:20ish to run before an appointment with Conor at Delos. It was much cooler (low 50’s!) and my hands were even a little cold! Conor worked on my left calf the whole time and it was just like my first appointment all over again…so much pain, but so worth it.

I was exhausted that afternoon. Plus I had my hair colored Tuesday afternoon and I wasn’t sure about swimming so soon afterward since my stylist said to wait a week before getting in the pool. I ended up taking a much needed nap instead of swimming and felt the best I had in days when I woke up.

Thursday

  • Plan: 1:05 Ride w/8×1′ Sprint + 2400 Swim 
  • Actual: 18.5M Ride @ 17.2 mph (1:05) w/sprints: 21.9, 21.7, 19.2, 20.4, 20.6  + 2400 m Swim (main set: 7×200, 4×25 sprint) 

I left as earlier as I could get myself out the door (~6:15) so that I could beat the traffic on the roads and avoid the lakefront path. I road north up to Evanston and while there was definitely a lot of starting and stopping, it was much better than going south on the path. I squeezed in as many sprints as I could when I was on the quieter neighborhood roads in Evanston before heading back into city traffic. That meant getting only 5 instead of the 8 planned. 

I hoped to squeeze in an outdoor swim at noon, but Brad was gone with the car so I finally headed to the pool once he got back to be there with the movers. 

That evening was our very fun, but also very sad going away party. We had a blast with all of our friends and stayed up drinking and saying goodbye until well past 2 a.m.

IMG_4307

Such an incredible group of friends.

Friday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Early morning after a late night and a LONG, long, long day of driving to Nashville.

Saturday

  • Plan: 2:00 Ride
  • Actual: 28.29M (~2:00), 14.4 mph

We visited Char and Jesse in Nashville “on the way” to Virginia. {It’s not really on the way so much, but at least in the same general direction.} It was supposed to rain all morning, but we got up at 6:30 and it was perfectly clear and had actually cooled down a ton from the overnight rain. These two tried to kill this flatlander by taking me up and down the hills of Nashville and through the 11-mile Percy Warner loop. Hence such a slow average for the ride.

Somehow I didn’t take any pictures except this one, but we had a great day listening to live music in the park and at a songwriters’ showcase. We also (obviously) drank some beer along the way 🙂

FullSizeRender (70)

Sunday

  • Plan: 1:20 – 1:30 Run
  • Actual: 8.5M, 8:32 avg.

The only thing I can really say about this is HOT. We walked out the door at 7 a.m. to a sauna. It was humid and already 80 degrees. It was basically a death march from mile 1. We started with the intention of running 10 and by mile 4, I wanted to quit at 6 so I was actually pretty please with 8.5 and only about 8 min shy of the 1:20 goal.

After the run, we had a quick diner breakfast with Char and Jesse then packed up the car for the rest of the long drive to Richmond.

Totals

  • Swim: 4600 meters 
  • Bike: 66 miles 
  • Run: 22 miles
  • Time: 8 hours 44 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, friends, Goals, life, Moving, running, swimming, training, Travel, triathlon, Weather, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

