USAT Nationals Week 6: Best Week Yet!

7 weeks until USAT Nationals

This week was almost the exact opposite of the previous week. I was able to get in all the workouts, including a legit (for me) long bike AND and open water swim! And maybe, just maybe I am starting to adjust to the heat and humidity because I finally saw the runs turn around a little too.

Monday 

  • Plan: 1:30 Bike w/5×5′ Hill Climbs
  • Actual: 20.1M Ride @ 17.1 mph (1:10) w/10×1′ Hill Climbs

Monday morning ride to start the week. A 5 minute hill climb in Virginia Beach is laughable. There isn’t anything even close. But after a nice warm-up, I did head over to a bridge near my house that gave me about a 1 minute hill climb and rode up and down it 10 times. Better than nothing?!

Tuesday 

  • Plan: Tempo Run w/2-3M @ feel + 2400 Swim
  • Actual: 6.9M @ 8:06 w/tempo: 7:13, 7:13, 7:06 (avg. for 0.5M) + 2000 swim (main set: 7×100 w/5″ RI, 7×100)

I was tired of only being able to do 2 miles at tempo pace so even if it killed me I was going to try to squeeze in at least another 1/2 mile. It was tough, hot and pretty miserable, but on paper – the best tempo I have had since before Bayshore.

After work I was in a hurry to get the swim in before the US Women’s semi-final game so I skipped the drills and kicking and just did the warm-up, main set and cool down.

Wednesday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Sweet, sweet rest.

Thursday

  • Plan: Speed work w/8-10×400 + 2500 Swim
  • Actual: 10.1M @ 8:23 avg w/400’s: 1:33, 1:35, 1:32, 1:36, 1:34, 1:32, 1:33, ? (forgot to lap), 1:33, 1:34 + 2300 Swim (main set: 7×200)

Track workout with my dear friend Jess. She was in town visiting with her family for the week and we met up at the track bright and early. It was so, so great seeing her and sharing the miles. Jess had 10×600’s so I ran the first lap with her on almost all of them. It was exactly the pull I needed to get me out of my running funk from the last few weeks. It was hard but we worked through them together and finally I felt really good in a workout. 

I swam after work and did the drills this time, but skipped the kicks since my legs were shot from the morning run.

Friday

  • Plan: 50 min – 1:00 Easy Run + 1:10 Ride w/9×1′ Speed intervals
  • Actual: ~6M, 50 min. + 21.7M @ 17.4 mph (1:15) w/intervals: 20.9, 21.2, 20.7, 21.7, 22.1, 18.0, 20.7, 20.4, 19.7

Nice and easy run with no Garmin. I am leaving it at home for easy runs since I don’t get good signals in the woods and also don’t really need to know my pace for these runs anyway.

I took the day off for the 4th and we had to make a day trip to Richmond. When we got back we did a little paddle boarding and laid on the beach. The ride was sorta hanging over my head the whole time and I really didn’t want to skip it so I pulled myself away to get it done before dinner. It actually went really well and I completely enjoyed it.

Saturday

  • Plan: 2:15 Ride 1:30 Run
  • Actual: 11M @ 8:27 avg.

I originally planned to ride Saturday morning but when Jess texted that she was running long, I decided to switch things around so I could run with her. Getting more time to spend with Jess was incredible and I finally, finally had my first decent long run since I have been here!

FullSizeRender (71)

Taken from Jess’ Instagram. Trust me: No one wants to see our sweaty, tired selfie from after the run 🙂

We spent the rest of the day relaxing on the beach for the 4th of July.

IMG_2682

This beach path is about 15 steps from our driveway.

Sunday

  • Plan: 1:30 Run 2:15 Ride + 1800 Swim
  • Actual: 40M @ 18.5 mph + ~1800 m OWS

After the fireworks and a long day at the beach, I decided not to set an alarm. Fortunately, I woke up naturally at 6 a.m. (what?!) and was on the bike by 6:45. This was awesome for beating the traffic and I had a really good ride around Virginia Beach. It once again reinforced how much better riding is here than in Chicago. I was definitely ready to be off the saddle by 40 miles (longest ride this year by 10+ miles), but my legs still felt strong.

I dragged myself out to the beach for an open water swim in the afternoon. I love swimming open water, but I was nervous since it was my first time here and I am also not used to the salt water. But it is super, super convienent since I can go in the bay right by my house. All was going well until right before the halfway mark and I got stung by a jellyfish!! Go figure in my first OWS.

IMG_2684

The initial aftermath of the sting.

Totals

  • Swim: 6100 meters 
  • Bike: 82 miles 
  • Run: 34 miles
  • Time: 10 hours 50 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, friends, Goals, life, Moving, running, swimming, training, Travel, triathlon, Weather, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 6: Best Week Yet!

  1. Pete B says:

    Ouch, sorry to hear about the jellyfish sting. Is there some repellent you could wear?! 🙂

    • Corey says:

      It’s funny that you asked that because I was wondering the SAME thing. I did hear that if I swim earlier in the day that the chances of being stung are less because they come out more as the water warms up. Need to do some research!

  2. Nice job with getting the hill climbs done and finding a way to make it work for you. Also killed it on that tempo run and those 400s- GREAT! Crushed it this week!!!

Tell me what you think!

