USAT Nationals Week 7: Building

5 weeks until USAT Nationals

Technically this week was supposed to be a recovery week for swimming and biking, but since the week before last was a bit of a recovery week because of missed workouts, I decided to switch some things around with my plan a little. That sets things up to back-off the volume a little next week for a little tune-up race!

Monday 

  • Plan: 3-4M Alternating Tempo: 6:55, 7:15, 6:55, 7:15 (optional)
  • Actual: 7.4M @ 7:52 avg. w/ tempo: 6:57, 7:15, 6:55

I am not going to lie…I was scared of this workout. My tempos have not been going well lately and I wasn’t sure if I had a sub-7 mile in me. And it was HARD, but I am really happy with how it went. This is the first time in a long time that a 7:15 mile felt like a pace I could maintain, rather than an all out sprint. Definite progress.

Instead of swimming after work, I took the dogs on a fun little off-leash beach adventure. Walter played in the water and Ernie acted like the nut that he is.

FullSizeRender (76)

Rolling in the sand.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: 1:00 Bike w/22 min @ tempo + 2125 Swim
  • Actual: 18.5M @ 18.5 mph w/tempo: 21.2 mph + 2150 m Swim (main set: 6×100 w/5″ RI, 7×75 w/45″ RI)

I really wanted to push the pace to at least 21 mph on the tempo portion and I am happy with being just over that, especially with some wind at various points. It is really, really hard to imagine holding a faster pace than this for 24+ miles in a mere 5 weeks.

FullSizeRender (75)

Bike lane, tree lined streets, smooth road. Heaven.

After work swim. Definitely doing a better job of pushing myself in the pool lately. But I really, really miss my outdoor lunch swims from last summer!

Wednesday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Sleep, errands, rest. I never look forward to rest days as much as I do during triathlon training.

Thursday

  • Plan: Speed work w/1-2x1M @ “feel” + 2700 Swim
  • Actual: 6.5M @ 7:50 w/repeats: 6:31, 6:30 + 2500 m Swim (main set: 5×300 + 12×25)

The first mile repeat felt awesome. I cruised through it and even felt like I was holding back a little. I didn’t fully recover with only 1:45 rest in between and the 2nd repeat felt hard in the first 200. It was overcast and not super hot, but really humid so the air felt too thick to breath at times. I was happy that it didn’t seem to get progressively harder to maintain the effort – it just kind of stayed hard but my pace didn’t drop off and I squeaked in a little faster than the first.

I swam after work and toward the end of the 25’s my calfs were cramping every time I pushed off the wall so I decided to skip the 200 of kicking. My legs were clearly done.

Friday

  • Plan: 1:15 Steady State Ride
  • Actual: 20.8M @ 18 mph (1:10)

Nice little early morning sping. Gotta love a solid head wind for the middle portion of the ride. It definitely gets the legs working.

Saturday

  • Plan: 1:45 Run + 2400 Swim
  • Actual: ~12.7M @ 8:17ish pace

I met Kris & Megan Saturday morning to run the first half of their 12-miler with them. It was SO awesome to finally meet Kris and I am double lucky to get to meet Megan that day too. They both had marathon pace miles on the return through the park, so I ran back solo then met Megan at the farmer’s market. This was by far the strongest long run I have had since I got to Virginia. Confidence and acclimation to the heat are definitely {finally} coming back.

IMG_2703

Borrowed from Kris’ Instagram.

It poured down rain all day Saturday after the run. (Maybe that’s why it was so effing humid???) so I didn’t get a chance to swim.

Sunday

  • Plan: 2:30 Ride 
  • Actual: 46M Bike @ 18.4 mph

Another awesome Sunday morning solo bike. I try to get up and on the road by 6:15 and feel like I basically have the streets to myself. I used to dread solo rides, but these last several in Virginia Beach have been awesome. There was a bit of a headwind going East and North, but I try to remind myself that it is a good substitute for having hills to ride.

It was a much nicer day so we spent some time at the beach, but it was windy (and I was lazy) so I never got out for an open water swim all weekend. womp.

Totals

  • Swim: 4650 meters 
  • Bike: 85 miles 
  • Run: 27 miles
  • Time: 9 hours 40 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, swimming, training, triathlon, Weather, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 7: Building

  1. Nice job on that tempo run and the mile repeats! Great paces, so strong! You have awesome looking bike lanes! Great job this week!

  2. Ugh tempos- I always dread them & if they weren’t necessary to becoming a faster, stronger runner, they’d be the first thing to go. Great job on yours! & Nice work on consistent splits during your mile intervals too 🙂

Tell me what you think!

