USAT Nationals Week 8: Tidewater Sprint

4 weeks until USAT Nationals

The schedule called for a (rust-buster) sprint triathlon last week, but there was a local one that fit my schedule much better this week. I moved some things around to back of the volume and intensity a bit later in the week to try to set myself up for a solid race on Saturday.

Monday 

  • Plan: Tempo w/3M @ 7:00 – 7:15 + OWS
  • Actual: 7.75 M @ 7:54 avg. w/ tempo: 7:14, 7:05, 7:01 + ~1750 yds OWS

Another step in the right direction with the tempo run. This time no short breaks for turnarounds or breathers. Just 3 solid tempo miles. Don’t get me wrong – it was hard, especially the last 1/2 mile, but I am finally seeing some glimpses of myself from this past spring.

After work I planned to go to a local tri club open water swim that is on a beach near my house. By the time I got out of work, picked up the dogs and fought traffic home, I missed the group swim. Since I haven’t been getting in near as many swims as I want/should, I headed down to the beach on my own. It was a perfect night and the water was really calm, but I found myself very jumpy in the water after my jellyfish sting (not to mention all the sharks in NC). The <1800 yards seemed to drag on forever.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: 1:00 Bike w/2x 12′ @ tempo + 2100 Swim
  • Actual: 18.7M @ 18.8 mph (59 min) w/tempo: 19.5, 21.4 + 2100 yard swim (main set: 4×300)

There was a stiff headwind out of the south which made the first tempo section tough. It felt like Nationals last year all over again…I was grinding so hard and couldn’t get any power. It was a good physical and mental battle for me at this point in training. Unfortunately I only had the tail wind for the first half of the 2nd tempo because I turned left and it was across me for the 2nd half. The first 6 min were fun to fly at almost 23 mph though!

My 10-pack of passes at the rec pool ran out so I used the opportunity to try out a new-to-me, outdoor pool near work. I miss swimming outside, but the pool at the Y wasn’t really that nice and I swear there was a current that made me feel like I wasn’t moving on one end of the pool.

Wednesday

  • Plan: 45 min Easy Run 
  • Actual: 6M @ ~8:15 avg.

I went to the J&A Racing Runner Hoppy Hour after work and met up with Megan again. It would have been really intimidating to go alone since it is such a huge group, but Megan was awesome and introduced me to so many people. Megan, her friend, Jess, and I ran a little over 5 miles and I ran almost one to get there from my house. It was a fun night and always good to share miles!

Thursday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

I was looking forward to this day all week! I slept in, stopped at Starbucks and STILL got to work earlier than I normally do. Then I got a pedicure and ran a bunch of errands after work. Ahhhhh.

IMG_2711

The nice girl at Starbucks gave us a pupacino. Look really closely Walter’s beard!

Friday

  • Plan: 20 min Shake-Out Run w/strides + 20 min Shake-Out Ride 
  • Actual: 2.55M @ 8:15 avg. (w/5xstrides) + 6M @ 17.4 mph

It’s easy to get out of bed for two very short workouts! My legs started out heavy but loosened up quickly. I dropped off Walter after the run, grabbed my bike and headed out. It’s amazing how quickly I can get going on the bike once my legs are already warm. It was night and day from regular early morning rides.

IMG_2713

Look who got to come to work with me on Friday!

Saturday

  • Plan: Tidewater Sprint Triathlon: 500 m Swim + 10M Bike + 5k Run
  • Actual: 1:00:18

Race report coming soon!

Sunday

  • Plan: 40 min Easy Run + 1:15 Recovery Ride
  • Actual: ~4.6M, ~8:40 avg. + 20.4M @ 16.3 mph

I slept in until I woke up naturally Sunday morning, which felt amazing. I finally headed out to run around 8 and it was really warm, but totally worth it. Walter ran the first 3 with me and then I finished up. I just wore my lap watch for time and kept it super nice and easy.

Brad and I spent the (miserable) middle part of Sunday sealing and staining our fence/decks. It was blazing hot (almost 100 degrees) and the stain was messy, smelly and got all over the place. It was not even a little bit fun.

The last thing I wanted to do after all that was to go back in the heat and ride. The only thing that convinced me to get out the door was knowing that I could keep the effort as easy as I wanted. In the end, it felt really, really good to spin out my legs and probably did more for me in terms of recovery than just sitting on the couch.

Totals

  • Swim: 4750 meters 
  • Bike: 56 miles 
  • Run: 24 miles
  • Time: 7 hours 50 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, swimming, training, triathlon, Weather, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 8: Tidewater Sprint

  1. Awesome week of workouts and CONGRATS on your awesome race!! What an amazing time. I can’t wait to read the report! Those tempo miles look niiiccceeee!!! 🙂

  2. elizabeth says:

    just played catch up on all 5 blog posts. 🙂 will ask more tomorrow- but really impressed with you getting all this in and moving and work. and, walters “coffee” is hilarious and ernie doesn’t look thrilled to be “working.” so flipping cute! can’t wait to read about the race!

Tell me what you think!

