USAT Nationals Week 9: Atlanta!

3 weeks until USAT Nationals

I had to shift all my swimming and biking workouts to the front part of the week to prepare for a very special weekend in Atlanta. It made Monday – Thursday a bit heavy, but it was totally worth it to have the weekend to focus on running with my buddies and having fun.

Monday 

  • Plan: 1:00 Easy Run + 2250 OWS
  • Actual: ~7.1M @ ~8:25 avg. + 2050 OWS

After Saturday’s effort, the normal Monday tempo was pushed back to give my legs a little more time to recover. I took Walter for the first 3 miles and then finished up on my own, keeping the effort *easy* (nothing really feels easy when its SO hot and humid right now). Also: more Garmin free miles!

Brad stuck around Monday to have dinner with me before he had to head to Richmond. Instead of going to the pool as planned, I decided to swim in the bay so we could go down to the beach together. Brad hopped on the paddle board with Ernie while I swam. Around 600 yds in, I stopped to say hi to Ernie and Brad and as I stood up, I got stung by a jellyfish AGAIN. I threw a little fit and then eventually finished up the swim, but was really jumpy and antsy to be done the whole time.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: 1:30 Bike w/30′ @ tempo + 2700 Swim
  • Actual: 28.4M @ 18.9 mph w/tempo: 22.1 mph + 2700 yard swim (main set: 5×300 + 8×25 sprint)

This was a HARD bike effort. I warmed up nice and easy and then hammered for 30 minutes. There was a slight tail wind for the first 15 min which was really nice to get the speed up. I am really happy to hit race pace, but it is hard to imagine doing that for over double the distance/time in a few weeks!

Longest swim of the season so far. The 300’s were all 4:30-4:35. I am super happy with 1:30/100 m and felt really smooth and efficient.

Wednesday

  • Plan: Brick: 1:30 Bike @ “threshold” + 30 min Run + 2500 Swim
  • Actual: 27.8M @ 18.6 mph + ~3.65M Run + 2500 m Swim (main set: 7×100 w/5″ RI + 8 x 100 HARD w/45″ RI)

I got up early and headed out on the bike as soon as it was light enough. I had a nice tail wind on the way out and then a pretty stiff headwind for about 10 miles coming back north. I was happy that I was able to keep a steady effort, but not let the speed drop off too much. I took Walter on the run and let him off the leash in the park while I tried to push the effort a little. The Garmin doesn’t really work in the woods so I didn’t wear it, but I would guess my pace was 8:00 – 8:15ish?

FullSizeRender (77)

Early morning rides mean incredible sunrises. Pictures don’t even do it justice, but the sky was on fire!

The swim went really well. For the short rest 100’s, I was coming in right at 1:30/100m and for the hard effort 100’s I was coming in at 1:23-1:25. If a little taper lets me swim that fast on race day, I would be thrilled!

Thursday

  • Plan: Tempo w/3M @ 7:00 – 7:15 + 1:30 Steady State Bike
  • Actual: 7.8M @ 7:51 avg. w/tempo: 7:13, 7:02, 6:58 + 27.6M Ride @ 18.6 mph

I won’t say the tempo runs are getting easier but this is the best one I have had yet. It was hard and I was drenched in sweat at the end, but I hit the paces with no breaks.

After two-a-days  Monday through Wednesday, my body was tired and it took all of my motivation to get on the bike after work. I started easy and told myself it was okay, but eventually decided, if I am out here, I might as well make it a quality workout. I picked up the effort for the last hour and finished with a solid ride.

{Also, they were performing helicopter exercises at Fort Story and while I was riding I saw a helicopter flying over with about 6-8 guys hanging on a rope dangling from the door! Only in Virginia Beach?!}

Friday

  • Plan: OFF/Restorative Yoga
  • Actual: Restorative Yoga

This rest day could not have come any sooner. It felt so nice to sleep until 7 a.m. and not have to rush around before my flight.

FullSizeRender (83)

With my little buddy on the way to day camp and the airport.

I flew to Atlanta for Elizabeth’s running bachelorette weekend (more to come!) and we went to a fun yoga for runners class that afternoon.

FullSizeRender (79)

Saturday

  • Plan:  5k Run for Elizabeth’s Running Weekend
  • Actual: 3.1M Hilly miles in 23:10 (7:24 min/mile)

Elizabeth was the winner!! Read more about the race from Jes.

Sunday

  • Plan: 1:45 Run
  • Actual: 12.5M @ 8:24 avg.

So much fun running with all my girls. Jesica, Holly, Molly, Elizabeth and I ran the first 8ish miles together, then Molly and I finished off the rest of my miles and she went back out for a few more. It was a bit warm and more hilly than I am used to but the company made the run fly by!

After the run we headed almost straight for FOOD!

FullSizeRender (80)

We all shared these and 5/6 of them were vegan so even Molly got to join in on the fun!

Sadly the weekend came to end that afternoon and I flew back to Virginia Beach. But luckily this guy was waiting there for me and we rode our beach cruisers to a new-to-us restaurant for a little seafood (and a drink!).

FullSizeRender (82)

Totals

  • Swim: 7250 meters 
  • Bike: 84 miles 
  • Run: 34 miles
  • Time: 11 hours 10 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, swimming, training, triathlon, Weather, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 9: Atlanta!

  1. chanthana says:

    You need to include a tally of jellyfish stings.

  2. Pingback: ITU World Championships – Race Report |

Tell me what you think!

