Still Alive

Hello? Is anyone still there?

Somehow I doubt it, but since I have felt this strange urge to write again lately, I dug through my links and found my way back here.

Honestly, I thought I had retired this space. In the last 6-9 months, I just haven’t felt the the need to put my thoughts down publicly. About anything. There isn’t really a deeper meaning behind this (that I know of), I just haven’t felt like writing. Heck, I even ran a marathon last fall and couldn’t bring myself to write about it. That’s when I *knew* that this little blog of mine didn’t have a space in my life anymore.

But over the last few weeks, I have felt this little voice telling me that I had something to say. I found myself drafting posts in my head and being more interested in reading blogs again. The feeling may not last, but while I am at it, let’s catch up.

The Rundown:

  • I ran Richmond Marathon in November in 3:33. It was a solid 7-8 minutes slower than what I thought I was capable of. I had mixed feelings – glad I went for it early, but disappointed in myself for giving up in miles 21-24. And simultaneously proud that I emerged from a very dark place and ran miles 25 & 26 as fast as the first few miles. As always, there were solid lessons learned about both racing 26.2 and the training that precedes it.

    6D360262-F1A8-4AD3-BC11-4869CC14A185

    Mile 18. Looking much better than I felt.

  • I battled plantar faciitis all winter. It started last summer, but I basically ignored it until after Richmond Marathon. I thought time off after the marathon would solve the problem, but I took one, two, then three weeks off with no relief. I finally saw a sports med doctor in December and got a prescription for PT. It was HARD. I left every appointment drenched in sweat and still felt like I wasn’t making progress, but very, very slowly, it started to get better. I still manage it by icing after hard workouts and go to PT every other week or so, but I don’t have pain anymore.

    Video shows a clear weakness in my left leg as it collapses on my take-off.

  • I ran Shamrock 1/2 Marathon in 1:40. When I registered, I thought this would be a PR attempt, but after the time off + PF issues, that changed. I was able to run all winter (with permission from the Doc & PT), but at much less volume and never two days in a row. I spent the winter struggling and grinding through workouts, but  a week before the race, something clicked and I started to feel like “myself” again. My Chicago girls came down for the race and we had a fantastic weekend. Despite super shitty race conditions (rain+wind+cold) and doing my part in drinking 6 bottles of Kim Crawford 2 days before the race, I was very pleased with the outcome. I started conservative, ran a 2+ minute negative split and finished with my 2nd fastest 1/2 ever.

    IMG_0108

    Happy Finish!

  • I am training for my 3rd 1/2 Ironman. After some fun triathlon adventures in 2015, I was ready to tackle longer distances again. I signed up for Chattanooga 70.3 and am less than 3 weeks from race day. How is training going? The first 9-10 weeks on the bike weren’t stellar. The running work was there and thanks to some good swimming buddies, that work was there too. I do have some regrets about the lack of time on the bike in the early weeks. I have done my best to “make-up” the training – 4 rides a week since the 1/2 way point. But can you ever really compensate for the missed workouts? I don’t think you can. Lesson learned. One positive is that I am not burned out like I was in the weeks leading up to B2B in 2012.
    IMG_0073

    Riding in Richmond is FANTASTIC.

    Of course it is impossible to summarize everything that happens in 8+ months in a short list, but as it relates to training & racing, these are definitely the highlights. I have a few more posts drafted so I will be around for a little bit before I disappear into the depths of the internet again 😉

Who is still around? What are you training for?

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, injuries, Races, running, Strength Training, swimming, training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still Alive

  1. Jeni says:

    So glad you’re back … For however long!
    I spent the winter recovering too. So much fun!
    One of these days I hope to get into the world of triathlon. Good luck on your half!

  2. I feel the same way about blogging as you! I still read blogs but don’t comment as much as I used to! I post 1x/month maybe!! 😉
    Good luck at Chat!! I’m sure that will be a good race!!! Almost there!!
    I’m training for Coeur d’Alene 703 and Ironman Wisconsin.

  3. elizabeth says:

    yayayayay i’ve missed you 🙂

Tell me what you think!

